NMRT President's Program Committee 2015-2016

Committee Charge

The NMRT President's Program committee plans, coordinates and delivers a program for the ALA Annual Meeting.

History of the Committee

The NMRT President's Program committee was created in 1983.

NMRT President’s Program 2015

Cultivating Your Influence: How to Be a Leading Librarian

Becoming a leader can be quite an intimidating prospect for many new (and not-so-new) librarians and information professionals. In this interactive preconference hosted by the New Members Round Table (NMRT), a diverse panel of librarians will provide insight on how to make it happen! No matter your career level or library type, being a leading advocate is an important component of librarianship and is critical when rallying support for ideas, services, and users.

Our dynamic panel of presenters includes Ingrid Abrams (Children’s Librarian at Brooklyn Public Library in New York), Shannon McClintock Miller (Teacher Librarian and Technology Integration Specialist in Colorado) and Michelle Millet (Director of the Grasselli Library at John Carroll University in Ohio). These three knowledgeable librarians will share their expertise as well as practical advice on how you can increase your level of influence -- both in and out of work. Specific topics that will be addressed include creating a powerful presence on social media, building a personal brand, working well with others laterally in an organization, and advocating for your own work and worth with your library director or boss. Each panelist will present her information, host a brief Q&A session, and then work with participants in smaller breakout groups.

Please join us on Friday, June 26, from 1pm - 4pm to learn about some proven ways to build leadership skills, to practice applying those skills, and to talk and share with other librarians and information professionals. This session is a wonderful opportunity to learn from some leading librarians. We hope to see you there!

To Register:

Access the ALA Annual Conference registration materials to submit your registration. The preconference code is NMR1.

Discount code:

NMRT members can receive a discounted price by entering code NMR2015 on the registration form. The code should be entered on the Personal Information page of the registration form (enter the code for the question: "If you have a promotional code, enter it here.") Membership status will be validated.




Committee Members:

Alison George

Ariana Santiago

Chrissie Rissmeyer

Eleanor Johnson

Ethan Fenichel

Michele Woods

Sarah Kirkley

CHAIR: Dani Brecher