2013-2014 Online Discussion Forum

Greetings NMRT'ers!  Since 2005 we have been offering an Online Discussion Forum so that those who are unable to attend the Midwinter and Annual Meetings can discuss and interact with fellow NMRT members. However, since those beginning days, the committee has developed beyond just providing a vehicle for non-conference attendees to connect; we're also a portal for members (both new and seasoned) to share their concerns, professional strategies, and advice.  We will hold monthly discussions on the NMRT-L e-mail list, October - May. We will also be hosting some live chats through ALA Connect and other platforms. Topics are listed below.

2013-2014 Topic Schedule:

October

  • Changing specialties within librarianship

November

What are the most valued? Which are often overlooked? How are they valuable in both the personal and professional sphere?

December

  • Transitioning to a higher position in the library workplace.

January

  • How can new MLIS grads craft their job applications to fit the job description?

February

March

  • How does one successfully take a professional or student project into a presentation or paper proposal?

April

  • Marketing and outreach in different library settings

May

  • Things you wish you learned in library school or things you wish were taught to library students

 

2013-2014 Committee Roster

Chair: Elizabeth Matkowski, ematkowski@hotmail.com

Committee Members
Ellen Armstrong, ellen.e.armstrong@gmail.com
Maggie Cusick, cusick.maggie@gmail.com
Africa Hands, asheri@rocketmail.com
Allie Janvey, alexandra.janvey@gmail.com
Alejandra Nann, ajsnann@gmail.com
Nicole Picano, nicolepicano0619@aol.com
Sophie Rondeau, smrondeau@hotmail.com
Amelia Snetting, arsnetting@stkate.edu 
Danielle Willgruber, danielle.willgruber@gmail.com