Shirley Olofson Memorial Award Committee

2014-15 Shirley Olofson Memorial Award Winner

The New Members Round Table ( NMRT) and the Shirley Olofson Memorial Award Committee wish to congratulate Kai Alexis Smith. She will receive $1000 to attend the ALA Annual Conference in San Francisco, CA.

Purpose of the award

The Shirley Olofson Memorial Award is presented annually in honor of Shirley Olofson, a well-respected former NMRT President, who died during her term in office. The award, which is intended to help defray costs to attend the ALA Annual Conference, is presented in the form of a check for $1,000 during the Annual Conference.

Award and award criteria

Applicants must be members of ALA and NMRT, participate actively in the library profession, show promise or activity in the area of professional development, have valid financial need, and have not attended more than five ALA Annual Conferences.


All ALA NMRT members who are not currently serving on the Shirley Olofson Memorial Award Committee and have attended fewer than five ALA Annual Conferences are encouraged to apply.

To submit an entry

Fill out the application online

Entry evaluation

The Award Committee will review the entries and select the winners based on their applications.


All applications will be acknowledged. The winner will be notified by email no later than March 31, 2016, so that the winner may attend the ALA Annual Conference.

Committee roster

Jennifer Stout, Chair

Sarah Kirkley

Rebecca Hopman

Akiema Buchanan

Kristen Bailey

Paula Wiley

To view the contact information for committee members, log in to ALA and see the  ALA active committee listing.