Awards (Scholarships & Grants)

Nawar wins United for Libraries/SAGE Academic Friend Conference Grant

PHILADELPHIA — United for Libraries has awarded the 2014 United for Libraries/SAGE Academic Friend Conference Grant to Essraa Nawar of Leatherby Libraries, Chapman University, Orange, Calif.

Nawar will receive $850 plus full conference registration to attend the 2014 ALA Annual Conference June 26-July 1 in Las Vegas. A formal presentation to Nawar will be made at the conference.

2014 Carnegie-Whitney Grant Award winners

CHICAGO — The Carnegie-Whitney Grant provides grants for the preparation, either in print and/or electronically, of popular or scholarly reading lists, webliographies, indexes and other guides to library resources that will be useful to users of all types of libraries in the United States. 

The American Library Association Publishing Committee is proud to announce the 2014 Carnegie-Whitney Award winners, whose proposed projects promote reading or the use of library resources.

EBSCO awards seven scholarships for librarians to attend 2014 ALA Annual Conference

CHICAGO, /IPSWICH, Mass. In co-sponsorship with the American Library Association (ALA), EBSCO has awarded seven librarians $1,000 scholarships to attend the ALA Annual Meeting in Las Vegas, June 26– July 1, 2014. The EBSCO ALA Annual Conference Sponsorship is an annual award consisting of $1,000 for actual reimbursed expenses designed to allow librarians to attend the conference.

The scholarship winners, including five first-time attendees, are:

FTRF Krug Fund Banned Books Week grant applications open through April 30 (Now May 5)

CHICAGO — Applications are now open for the 2014 Judith F. Krug Memorial Fund Banned Books Week event grants, sponsored by the Freedom to Read Foundation (FTRF). Organizations are encouraged to apply for grants of $1,000 and/or $2,500 in support of "Read-Outs” or other activities that celebrate Banned Books Week (Sept. 21–27, 2014).

Loertcher's project to link school librarians to outcomes wins Baber Research Grant

CHICAGO — David Loertscher is the 2014 winner of the American Library Association's (ALA) Carroll Preston Baber Research Grant for the project entitled “The Impact of Co-Teaching on Learning When Classroom Teachers Team with Teacher Librarians: The Testing of an Unobtrusive Measurement Tool.”

The Carroll Preston Baber Research Grant focuses on a pressing national issue that is of importance to library service, and the award committee felt that this project – measuring the effect of co-teaching and teacher librarians on raising educational outcomes –  fit the criteria well.

Haslet Public Library's Robotics Club wins 2014 Loleta D. Fyan Grant

CHICAGO – The Haslet Public Library’s early science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education program for pre-teens, “Haslet Robotics Club,” has been awarded the 2014 Loleta D. Fyan grant. Their plan aims to fill  science-based educational and entertainment gaps for children aged 9-16 within their service area.

ALSC invites applications for 2015 Arbuthnot Lecture with Brian Selznick

CHICAGO The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) and the 2015 May Hill Arbuthnot Lecture Committee are proud to announce the opening of the application to host the 2015 event featuring well-known children’s book creator Brian Selznick.

Martin County Library System awarded H.W. Wilson Staff Development Grant

CHICAGO — The Martin County (Fla.) Library System has been named the H.W. Wilson Library Staff Development Grant recipient for 2014, for its "Connect: Customer Service Excellence at Martin County Library System” program. The focus of this program is to develop and train each staff member to be knowledgeable in every area of library operations. After completion, staff will be capable and confident in answering complex questions and handling difficult situations.

ALA Office for Diversity calls for 2014-2015 Diversity Research Grant proposals

CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) Office for Diversity seeks proposals for its Diversity Research Grant program.  Applications may address any diversity topic, including the recruitment and promotion of diverse individuals within the profession or the provision of library services to diverse populations, which addresses critical gaps in the knowledge of diversity issues within library and information science.

The application deadline is April 30, 2014. Applicants must be current ALA members. 

Gale Cengage Learning Financial Development Award recipient named

CHICAGO — The Cedar Park (Texas) Public Library is the 2014 winner of the prestigious Gale Cengage Learning Financial Development Award. The award is presented annually to a library organization for exhibiting meritorious achievements in carrying out a project to secure new funding resources for a public or academic library.


Subscribe to Awards (Scholarships & Grants)