Awards (Scholarships & Grants)

ALSC now accepting applications for 2016 Bechtel Fellowship

CHICAGO — The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) and the Special Collections and Bechtel Fellowship Committee are now accepting online applications for the 2016 Louise Seaman Bechtel Fellowship.  The Bechtel Fellowship is designed to allow qualified children’s librarians to spend a total of four weeks or more reading and studying at the Baldwin Library of Historical Children’s Literature, a part of the George A.

LITA 2015 Scholarships Winners

CHICAGO - Rachel Vacek announced at her LITA President’s program at the ALA Annual Conference in San Francisco, the winners of annual scholarships LITA sponsors jointly with three organizations: Baker & Taylor, LSSI and OCLC.

Apply to host a space, earth science or technology exhibition at your public library

CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) Public Programs Office, in collaboration with the Space Science Institute’s National Center for Interactive Learning, the Lunar and Planetary Institute and the Afterschool Alliance, invites public libraries to apply to host one of three science- and technology-focused traveling exhibitions.

Libraries invited to apply for Great Stories Club programming grants for at-risk teens

CHICAGO – The American Library Association (ALA) Public Programs Office invites libraries to apply for the Great Stories Club, a reading and discussion program for at-risk teens.

Eligible libraries are located within or working in partnership with organizations that serve at-risk youth, such as alternative high schools, juvenile justice organizations, homeless shelters, foster care agencies, teen parenting programs, residential treatment facilities and other nonprofit and community agencies. Up to 50 grants will be awarded.

AASL and Dollar General Literacy Foundation award two $50,000 Beyond Words Disaster Relief Grants

CHICAGO – Old Dock Elementary School in Whiteville, N.C., and James Monroe Elementary in Edison, N.J., are the recipients of the 2015 catastrophic disaster relief grants offered as a part of the American Association of School Librarians’ (AASL) Beyond Words Grant funded by the Dollar General Literacy Foundation. Since 2012, two catastrophic grants are awarded yearly to schools that suffered a 90 percent or greater loss to the school library program due to a natural disaster, fire or an act recognized by the federal government as terrorism. 

Twenty-four public libraries selected to host space, earth science, technology exhibitions

CHICAGO — Twenty-four public libraries from across the country will host interactive science- and technology-focused traveling exhibitions, bringing learning about the stars and planets, earth science and climate change and technology to audiences of all ages.

ALA’s Office for Diversity, Literacy and Outreach Services and ProLiteracy receive IMLS grant to expand adult literacy services through libraries

CHICAGO – ALA’s Office for Diversity, Literacy and Outreach Services, in partnership with ProLiteracy, has received a grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) to develop online training and supporting resources to better equip librarians and library staff to serve adult learners. The grant award is $106,669.

More than 200 grants nationwide announced for ‘Latino Americans: 500 Years of History’ program

For inquiries or an interview with the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH), contact Theola DeBose, Director of Communications, at or 202-606-8255.

CHICAGO — The National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and American Library Association (ALA) have announced that 203 libraries, museums and other nonprofit organizations across the country are to receive Latino Americans: 500 Years of History programming grants.

ALSC announces winners of 2015 Bound to Stay Bound Books, Melcher Scholarships

CHICAGO — The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) announced six scholarship winners for the 2015-2016 academic year.

Four winners were awarded the Bound to Stay Bound Books Scholarship, which is made possible by Bound to Stay Bound Books, Inc. All four recipients will receive $7,500 in scholarship aid for the 2015-2016 academic year. The four recipients are: Marta Denise Brandes-Meisener, La Mesa, California; Blanca Rosales Ginsberg, La Mesa, California; Lauren Gray, Monticello, Illinois; Jennifer Matsu, Provo, Utah.

FTRF names Amy Steinbauer and Gretchen LeCheminant as Conable Scholarship recipients

CHICAGO — The Freedom to Read Foundation (FTRF) has selected Amy Steinbauer and Gretchen LeCheminant as recipients of Gordon M. Conable Conference Scholarships. The Conable Scholarships will provide for Steinbauer's and LeCheminant's expenses to attend the 2015 American Library Association (ALA) Annual Conference in San Francisco.