Awards (Professional Recognition)

U.S. Senator Jack Reed receives honorary membership to the American Library Association

Reed recognized in Washington for support of libraries

Washington, D.C. — U.S. Senator Jack Reed (R.I) was honored today in Washington, D.C. with Honorary Membership from the American Library Association (ALA) for his continued support of national libraries. Reed was presented with the prestigious honorary membership during a ceremony at the 2012 National Library Legislative Day.

American Library Association honors Kentucky advocate Louis 'Buzz' Carmichael

Louis “Buzz” Carmichael recognized in Washington for support of libraries

Washington, D.C. — Library advocate Louis “Buzz” Carmichael, of Lexington, Ky., was recognized today with the White House Conference on Library and Information Services Taskforce (WHCLIST) Award for his commitment to supporting the nation’s libraries. ALA President Molly Raphael acknowledged Carmichael at the American Library Association’s 2012 National Library Legislative Day in Washington, D.C.

RUSA Reference Services Section honors Lisa R. Horowitz

CHICAGO—Lisa R. Horowitz, assessment librarian, Administrative Services & User Experience at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology Libraries, is the 2012 winner of the Reference and User Services Association’s Reference Services Section (RSS) Service Achievement Award.

AASL President recognizes Senator Jack Reed with AASL Crystal Apple

CHICAGO — The American Association of School Librarians (AASL) President Carl Harvey has selected Senator Jack Reed of Rhode Island as the recipient of the 2012 Crystal Apple. The honor is given at the discretion of the AASL president to an individual or group that has had a significant impact on school library programs and students.

Sharon Coatney receives AASL Distinguished Service Award

CHICAGO — Sharon Coatney is the 2012 recipient of the American Association of School Librarians' (AASL) Distinguished Service Award. Established in 1978 and sponsored by Baker and Taylor, the award recognizes an individual member of the library profession who has, over a significant period of time, made an outstanding national contribution to school librarianship and school library development. Coatney was nominated by Linda Corey.

Albany High School educators win AASL Collaborative School Library Award

CHICAGO – The “EDSET Research Poster Session and Podcast Project” team from Albany High School in Albany, Calif., is the 2012 recipient of the American Association of School Librarian’s (AASL) Collaborative School Library Award.  The team – consisting  of Sara Oremland, school librarian, Darren McNally, environmental science teacher, Corinne Berletti, history teacher, and Jessica Park, English teacher – works with junior and senior high school students participating in the school’s Environmental Design, Sciences, Engineering, and Tech

ASCLA award for innovative universal access project shared by 'Books for Dessert' program and 'Digital Access Project'

CHICAGO — This year’s ASCLA/KLAS/NOD Award, an annual honor presented by the Association for Specialized and Cooperative Library Agencies (ASCLA), will be presented to two organizations that produced noteworthy services and programming for library users with disabilities: the Port Washington (N.Y.) Public Library for its “Books for Dessert” Program, and the Perkins Braille & Talking Book Library and the Boston Public Library Digital Access Project.

South Carolina Library Association wins ALA President’s Award for Advocacy, sponsored by ALTAFF

PHILADELPHIA —  The Association of Library Trustees, Advocates, Friends and Foundations (ALTAFF), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), announces, in cooperation with ALA President Molly Raphael and ALA President-Elect Maureen Sullivan, that the South Carolina Library Association (SCLA) is the recipient of the 2012 ALA Presidential Award for Advocacy, sponsored by ALTAFF.

PLA award winners represent excellence in public libraries

CHICAGO - The Public Library Association (PLA) has announced 12 2012 award winners honoring the best in public library service, innovation and outreach.

Perkins is 2012 ALSC Distinguished Service Award recipient

CHICAGO – Linda A. Perkins is the 2012 recipient of the Association for Library Service to Children’s (ALSC) Distinguished Service Award. This prestigious award honors an individual who has made significant contributions to library service to children and to ALSC.