Awards (Professional Recognition)

Steven A. Knowlton receives the 2016 Justin Winsor essay award from the Library History Round Table

CHICAGO — The Library History Round Table has awarded Steven A. Knowlton the 2016 Justin Winsor Prize. The award, $500 and a certificate, is presented annually to the author of an outstanding essay embodying original historical research on a significant subject of library history. The winning essay will be considered for publication in "Information & Culture: A Journal of History." The award is named in honor of the distinguished 19th century librarian, historian and bibliographer who was also ALA's first president.

2016 RBMS Leab Exhibition Award winners

CHICAGO – The Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Rare Books and Manuscripts Section (RBMS) has selected four winners and one honorable mention for the 2016 Katharine Kyes Leab and Daniel J. Leab “American Book Prices Current” Exhibition Awards.

Baich and Steiner selected as 2016 interlibrary loan achievement award recipients

CHICAGO—The Sharing and Transforming Access to Resources Section (STARS) of RUSA has selected the winners of its two achievement awards honoring librarians providing exceptional service in the fields of interlibrary loan, resource sharing and document delivery.

Hammill named winner of Reference Services Section's Service Achievement Award

CHICAGO— Sarah J. Hammill, business and online learning librarian at Florida International University, was selected as the 2016 winner of the RSS Service Achievement Award. The award recognizes a member that has made exceptional contributions to RUSA’s Reference Services Section.

LaGuardia named winner of RUSA’s highest honor for achievements in reference services

CHICAGO-- Cheryl LaGuardia, research librarian at the Widener Library of Harvard University, has been awarded the 2016 Isadore Gilbert Mudge Award, RUSA’s highest honor for her distinguished and multifaceted contributions to reference librarianship.

Sponsored by Credo Reference, the award consists of $5,000 and a citation which will be presented at the ALA Annual Conference in Orlando.

Padilla, McNabb named award winners for historical and genealogical research and achievements

CHICAGO—The History section of RUSA has selected the winners of its two achievement awards honoring librarians and their contributions to the fields of genealogical and historical research and services.

Boatright recognized for outstanding achievements in RUSA’s Emerging Technologies Section

CHICAGO—Beth Boatright, information services and instruction librarian, Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne, was selected as the 2016 winner of the Emerging Technologies Section (ETS) Achievement Recognition Award.

Boatright will be presented with a citation at the RUSA Achievement Awards Ceremony and Reception at the ALA Annual Conference in Orlando.

Dr. Bell Griffin, 'Multimedia & Technology Reviews' named winners for promotion of African American literature, reviewing

CHICAGO— The Collection Development and Evaluation Section (CODES) of RUSA has selected the winners of two achievement awards which recognize the profession’s most exceptional contributors to readers’ advisory and collection development.

Dr. Florita Bell Griffin, creative director of ARC Communications, LLC, a Texas-based Visual Art Communications and Publishing Company, was announced as the 2016 winner of the Zora Neale Hurston Award.

Business Reference and Services Section names 2016 achievement award and grant winners

CHICAGO—The Business Reference and Services Section (BRASS) of RUSA has selected the winners of the 2016 achievement awards, research and travel grants which recognize the profession’s most exceptional librarians, libraries and projects involving business reference services today.

Denice Adkins, C. Sean Burns named winners of 2016 RUSA Reference Service Press Award

CHICAGO—Denice Adkins, associate professor at the University of Missouri School of Information Science and Learning Technologies and C. Sean Burns, assistant professor, University of Kentucky School of Information Science, authored the winning article selected for RUSA’s 2016 Reference Service Press Award.