Awards (Professional Recognition)

Tickets available for 2014 Arbuthnot Lecture featuring Andrea Davis Pinkney

CHICAGO The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) and the University of Minnesota Libraries, Children's Literature Research Collections (CLRC) announced that tickets for the 2014 May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture featuring Andrea Davis Pinkney are now available.

ASCLA award winners recognized for innovative contributions to populations with disabilities

CHICAGO —The Association of Specialized and Cooperative Library Agencies (ASCLA) 2014 Award winners have been selected. The awards program recognizes outstanding achievement within the library profession by librarians and libraries for significant current or past achievements, including publications, program development and leadership in the profession.

AASL introduces the Roald Dahl’s Miss Honey Social Justice Award

CHICAGO – The American Association of School Librarians (AASL) invites members to apply for the Roald Dahl’s Miss Honey Social Justice Award, a new addition to the organization’s prestigious awards program. Sponsored by Penguin Random House, the Roald Dahl Award recognizes collaboration between school librarians and teachers in the instruction of social justice using school library resources. More information is available on the AASL website at

Applications now accepted for school library program award

CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) Public Programs Office is now accepting nominations for the 2014 Sara Jaffarian School Library Program Award for Exemplary Humanities Programming.

To be considered, nominations must be received by the ALA Public Programs Office by April 18, an extension of a previous deadline. Applications and award guidelines are available at

Les Hawkins recipient of Ulrich’s Serials Librarianship Award

CHICAGO — The Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) congratulates Les Hawkins on receiving the 2014 Ulrich’s Serials Librarianship Award. Presented by the Continuing Resources Section (CRS) of ALCTS, this award, consisting of a citation and $1,500 donated by ProQuest through its Serials Solutions business unit, is given for distinguished contributions to serials librarianship.

Marie Kennedy receives the Ingram Coutts Innovation Award

CHICAGO – The Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) Collection Management Section (CMS) has chosen Marie Kennedy, serials and electronic resources librarian at Loyola Marymount University William H. Hannon Library as the 2014 recipient of the Ingram Coutts Award for Innovation in Electronic Resources Management.  The Ingram Coutts Award recognizes significant and innovative contributions to electronic collections management and development practice.

Maurice J. (Mitch) Freedman receives the 2014 Joseph W. Lippincott Award

CHICAGO — Maurice J. (Mitch) Freedman is the winner of the 2014 Joseph W Lippincott Award, which honors distinguished service to the profession of librarianship.  This annual award is sponsored by Joseph W. Lippincott III and presented by the American Library Association.

Applications for United for Libraries’ Baker & Taylor Awards due May 1

PHILADELPHIA – United for Libraries is accepting applications for the Baker & Taylor Awards, given to friends of the library groups and library foundations. Applications are due May 1, 2014.

Given annually since 2000, the Baker & Taylor Awards have recognized more than 40 groups for outstanding efforts to support their library. Each winning group receives $1,000.

Luis Herrera, director San Francisco Public Library, receives 2014 Sullivan Award

CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) is pleased to announce the 2014 Peggy Sullivan Award for Public Library Administrators Supporting Services to Children has been awarded to Luis Herrera, San Francisco Public Library’s city librarian.  The Sullivan Award is presented annually to an individual in a library administrator role who has shown exceptional understanding and support of public library service to children.


Subscribe to Awards (Professional Recognition)