Awards (Professional Recognition)

Maurice J. (Mitch) Freedman receives the 2014 Joseph W. Lippincott Award

CHICAGO — Maurice J. (Mitch) Freedman is the winner of the 2014 Joseph W Lippincott Award, which honors distinguished service to the profession of librarianship.  This annual award is sponsored by Joseph W. Lippincott III and presented by the American Library Association.

Applications for United for Libraries’ Baker & Taylor Awards due May 1

PHILADELPHIA – United for Libraries is accepting applications for the Baker & Taylor Awards, given to friends of the library groups and library foundations. Applications are due May 1, 2014.

Given annually since 2000, the Baker & Taylor Awards have recognized more than 40 groups for outstanding efforts to support their library. Each winning group receives $1,000.

Luis Herrera, director San Francisco Public Library, receives 2014 Sullivan Award

CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) is pleased to announce the 2014 Peggy Sullivan Award for Public Library Administrators Supporting Services to Children has been awarded to Luis Herrera, San Francisco Public Library’s city librarian.  The Sullivan Award is presented annually to an individual in a library administrator role who has shown exceptional understanding and support of public library service to children.

Olivia Madison named ALCTS' Ross Atkinson Award recipient

CHICAGO — The Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) names Olivia Madison, dean of libraries at Iowa State University, the 2014 recipient of its Ross Atkinson Lifetime Achievement Award.  The Award honors the memory of Ross Atkinson, a distinguished library leader, author and scholar whose extraordinary service to ALCTS and the library community at large serves as a model for those in the field.  The award, generously sponsored by EBSCO Information Services, will be presented on June 28

2014 John Ames/Humphry/OCLC/Forest Press Award winner announced

CHICAGO — Dr. Shali Zhang is this year’s recipient of the American Library Association (ALA) International Relations Committee’s John Ames/Humphry/OCLC/Forest Press Award.

OCLC/Forest Press donated the cash award of $1,000, which is given to an individual for significant contribution to international librarianship.

Most distinguished librarians in reference announced for 2014 achievement awards

CHICAGO —The Reference and User Services Association (RUSA) has selected the winners of the 2014 achievement awards, which provide research and travel grants in recognition of  the nation’s most exceptional librarians, libraries and projects involving reference services today.

Sara Shatford Layne selected for Margaret Mann Citation

CHICAGO — The Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) announces that Sara Shatford Layne is the recipient of the 2014 Margaret Mann Citation presented by its Cataloging and Metadata Management  Section (CaMMS). The Mann Citation will be presented at the ALCTS Awards Ceremony at the American Library Association Annual Conference in Las Vegas, June 28, 2014.

The Alberta Library Online receives ALCTS Collaboration Award

CHICAGO — The Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) has chosen The Alberta Library Online: The Alberta Group Catalogue as the recipient of the ALCTS Outstanding Collaboration Citation for 2014. 

Madeline Kelly awarded Jan Merrill-Oldham Travel Grant

CHICAGO — Madeline Kelly, collection development support specialist at George Mason University, has been awarded the 2014 Jan Merrill-Oldham Professional Development Grant.


Subscribe to Awards (Professional Recognition)