Awards (Professional Recognition)

Patricia Iannuzzi named 2013 ACRL Academic/ Research Librarian of the Year

CHICAGO —  Patricia Iannuzzi, dean of university libraries at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV), is the 2013 Association of College and Research Libraries’ (ACRL) Academic/Research Librarian of the Year. The award, sponsored by YBP Library Services, recognizes an outstanding member of the library profession who has made a significant national or international contribution to academic/research librarianship and library development.

Five local libraries honored for offering cutting-edge services

WASHINGTON, D.C.  — Today, the American Library Association (ALA) recognized five libraries for offering cutting-edge technologies in library services, honoring programs in Boston, New York, Tucson, Ariz., Orlando, Fla. and Le Roy, N.Y.

Deadline extended for IFRT Immroth Award nominations

CHICAGO —The deadline for nominations for the John Phillip Immroth Memorial Award has been extended to Feb. 17, 2013. The Immroth Award honors intellectual freedom fighters in and outside the library profession who have demonstrated remarkable personal courage in resisting censorship. The award consists of $500 and a citation. Individuals, groups of individuals and organizations are eligible for the award.

John Cotton Dana Award accepting entries for outstanding library public relations: Eight $10,000 grants will be awarded

CHICAGO —The American Library Association (ALA) is now accepting submissions for the John Cotton Dana Award (JCD). The award, which is managed by the Library Leadership and Management Association (LLAMA) division of ALA, honors outstanding library public relations. Eight $10,000 grants are awarded each year by the H.W. Wilson Foundation and the annual Awards Tea is sponsored by the ALA and EBSCO Publishing.

Carnegie Corporation of New York/New York Times I Love My Librarian winners announced

Robert K. Massie, Best-Selling Author of "Catherine the Great, Portrait of a Woman" to Make Remarks

NEW YORK —  Today, 10 librarians are recognized for service to their communities, schools and campuses as winners of the Carnegie Corporation of New York/New York Times I Love My Librarian Award.
More than 1,500 library patrons nationwide nominated a librarian.  The 10 award recipients are:

Dorothy J. Davison
Horrmann Library, Wagner College

Nomination deadline for many RUSA awards extended to Jan. 15

CHICAGO —The nomination deadline has been extended to Jan. 15, 2013, for several annual awards offered by the Reference and User Services Association; the new deadline is Jan. 15, 2013 with the exception of the BRASS Gale Cengage Learning Student Travel Award, which has a deadline of Jan. 31, 2013.

ASCLA Awards: Nomination deadline extended to Jan. 31, 2013

CHICAGO — The Association for Specialized and Cooperative Library Agencies (ASCLA) has extended the nomination deadline to Jan. 31, 2013 for its 2013 awards, which recognize projects focused on library services to people with disabilities; the advancement of library services for the blind and physically handicapped; exceptional achievement in extension and outreach services; exemplary leadership and achievement in consulting, state library services and library cooperatives; and service to ASCLA.

EMIERT accepting nominations for 2013 Distinguished Librarian Award

CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) Ethnic and Multicultural Information Exchange Round Table (EMIERT) is seeking nominations for its 2013 Distinguished Librarian Award.

The EMIERT Distinguished Librarian Award recognizes significant accomplishments in multicultural library services that are national or international in scope and that include improving, spreading and promoting multicultural services in libraries.

Nominations sought for prestigious research award

CHICAGO — Nominations are invited for the 2013 Frederick G. Kilgour Award for Research in Library and Information Technology, sponsored by OCLC, Inc. and the Library and Information Technology Association (LITA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA).  The deadline for nominations is Dec. 31, 2012.

AASL executive director receives outstanding achievement award

CHICAGO — Julie Walker, executive director of the American Association of School Librarians (AASL), was recognized with an outstanding achievement award by the Family Online Safety Institute (FOSI) during its 2012 annual conference in Washington, D.C. on Thursday, Nov. 15. Nominated by the National Cable & Telecommunications Association (NCTA), Walker was recognized for her exceptional work in the field of online safety.


Subscribe to Awards (Professional Recognition)