Awards (Professional Recognition)

RUSA's History Section names winners of projects for excellence in historical and genealogical research

CHICAGO—The History Section of the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA) has named the winners of three achievement awards which honor outstanding service and contributions to the fields of historical and genealogical research.

Ross Atkinson award given to Carlen Ruschoff

CHICAGO — The Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) names Carlen Ruschoff, director of technical services and strategic initiatives at the University of Maryland as the 2015 recipient of its Ross Atkinson Lifetime Achievement Award. The award honors the memory of Ross Atkinson, a distinguished library leader, author and scholar whose extraordinary service to ALCTS and the library community-at-large serves as a model for those in the field.

Culbertson and Collins recipients of Ulrich’s Serials Librarianship Award

CHICAGO — The Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) congratulates the recipients of the 2015 Ulrich’s Serials Librarianship Award, Rebecca Culbertson and Maria Collins. Presented by the Continuing Resources Section (CRS) of ALCTS, this award consists of a citation and $1,500 donated by ProQuest and is given for distinguished contributions to serials librarianship.

RUSA’s Business Reference and Services Section selects achievement award and grant winners

CHICAGO — The Business Reference and Services Section (BRASS) of RUSA has selected the winners of the 2015 achievement awards, research and travel grants that recognize the profession’s most exceptional librarians, libraries and projects involving business reference services today.

Two Friends groups win National Friends of Libraries Week Awards

PHILADELPHIA -- Friends of A.K. Smiley Public Li­brary (Redlands, California) and Friends of the Logan County (Kentucky) Library are winners of United for Libraries’ 2014 National Friends of Libraries Week Awards. Friends of Fondulac Library (East Peoria, Illinois) and Friends of Chel­sea (Michigan) District Library earned honorable mentions for their efforts.

RUSA’s STARS section names winners of 2015 achievement awards for ILL practitioners

CHICAGO —The Sharing and Transforming Access to Resources Section (STARS) has selected the winners of its two achievement awards honoring librarians providing exceptional service in the fields of interlibrary loan (ILL), resource sharing and document delivery.

RUSA MARS section names Debbie Bezanson winner of service achievement award

CHICAGO —The MARS: Emerging Technologies in Reference Section of the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA) has selected the winner of the 2015 service achievement award.

Arizona, California libraries win 2015 Bookapalooza Program

CHICAGO — The Association for Library Services to Children (ALSC) has awarded the 2015 Bookapalooza Program to three libraries:  Maricopa Public Library, Maricopa, Arizona; Pinetop-Lakeside Public Library, Lakeside, Arizona; and Monterey County Free Libraries, Marina, California.

Farmer wins 2015 LIRT Librarian Recognition Award

CHICAGO — The Library Instruction Round Table (LIRT) of the American Library Association has chosen Dr. Lesley S. J. Farmer, professor of library media at California State University Long Beach, as the 2015 recipient of the LIRT Librarian Recognition Award.  The Librarian Recognition Award was created to recognize an individual’s contribution to the development, advancement and support of information literacy and instruction.

Keba, Schofield and Segno win 2015 ACRL IS Innovation Award

CHICAGO — Michelle Keba, Michael Schofield and Jamie Segno, all of Nova Southeastern University, have been selected to receive the 2015 Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Instruction Section (IS) Innovation award for their work on the software, Library Learn, which hosts instructional videos for using library resources. Keba is reference and instructional librarian II, Schofield is Web services librarian and Segno is reference/outreach librarian II.


Subscribe to Awards (Professional Recognition)