Awards (Professional Recognition)

ALSC now accepting applications for 2015 Bechtel Fellowship

CHICAGO The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) and the Special Collections and Bechtel Fellowship Committee are now accepting online applications for the 2015 Louise Seaman Bechtel Fellowship.  The Bechtel Fellowship is designed to allow qualified children’s librarians to spend a total of four weeks or more reading and studying at the Baldwin Library of Historical Children’s Literature, a part of the George A.

Three groups win United for Libraries’ Baker & Taylor Awards

PHILADELPHIA — Three groups have been recognized with United for Libraries’ Baker & Taylor Awards for outstanding efforts to support their library. This year’s winners are Friends of the Weber County Library (Ogden, Utah), Friends of the Peoria (Ariz.) Public Library and Danville (Ill.) Library Foundation. Each group receives $1,000 and a clock from Baker & Taylor to honor their achievements.

Burhanna wins inaugural LIRT Librarian Recognition Award

CHICAGO The American Library Association's (ALA) Library Instruction Round Table (LIRT) awarded its first ever Librarian Recognition Award at ALA Annual Conference on Sunday, June 29, 2014 to Kenneth Burhanna, associate professor and assistant dean for engagement and outreach at Kent State University Libraries. The Librarian Recognition Award was created to recognize an individual’s contribution to the development, advancement and support of information literacy and instruction.

United for Libraries honors Kendrick B. Melrose with Major Benefactor Citation

PHILADELPHIA United for Libraries, in conjunction with the Orange County (Fla.) Library System, honored Kendrick B. Melrose with its Major Benefactor Citation for his significant contribution to the creation of the Dorothy Lumley Melrose Center for Technology, Innovation & Creativity.

Cannon Memorial Library, Saint Leo University, honored with LIRT Innovation in Instruction award

CHICAGO The American Library Association's (ALA) Library Instruction Round Table (LIRT) awarded its inaugural Innovation in Instruction Award at ALA Annual Conference on Sunday, June 29, 2014 to Cannon Memorial Library of Saint Leo University in Florida.  The award was accepted by Jacalyn Bryan, assistant professor and reference and instruction services librarian, and Elana Karshmer, instruction program and information literacy librarian on behalf of Cannon Memorial.

AASL Crystal Apple awarded to Marlene Woo-Lun

CHICAGO — The American Association of School Librarians (AASL) President, Gail Dickinson, has selected Marlene Woo-Lun as the recipient of the 2014 Crystal Apple. The Crystal Apple honor is given at the discretion of the AASL president to an individual or group that has had a significant impact on school library programs and students.

Conway's article on digital imaging error wins 2014 Shera prize

CHICAGO — The Library Research Round Table (LRRT) of the American Library Association (ALA) has chosen Paul Conway as the winner of the 2014 Jesse H. Shera Award for Distinguished Published Research for the article “Preserving Imperfection: Assessing The Incidence of Digital Imaging Error in HathiTrust” in Preservation, Digital Technology, & Culture, 42(1), 17-30.

Indianapolis middle school wins 2014 Sara Jaffarian School Library Program Award

CHICAGO — An Indiana middle school library has been recognized by the American Library Association (ALA) for its work in creating an innovative genealogy program for eighth-graders.

Perry Meridian Middle School in Indianapolis won the 2014 Sara Jaffarian School Library Program Award for Exemplary Humanities Programming for its “R.O.A.D. (Research, Observe, Analyze, Discover) I Travel” unit, created in 2013 in partnership with the Indiana State Library and Indiana Historical Society.

Betsy Lobmeyer receives inaugural Roald Dahl Miss Honey Social Justice Award

CHICAGO Betsy Lobmeyer and her project “Charlie’s Ever Warming Blankets” Children in Poverty, is the inaugural recipient of the American Association of School Librarians’ (AASL) Roald Dahl Miss Honey Social Justice Award. Sponsored by Penguin Random House, the Roald Dahl Award recognizes collaboration between school librarians and teachers in the instruction of social justice using school library resources.

ALA announces winner of the first-ever Lemony Snicket Prize for Noble Librarians Faced With Adversity

CHICAGO – Laurence Copel, youth outreach librarian and founder of the Lower Ninth Ward Street Library, New Orleans, is the first recipient of the Lemony Snicket Prize for Noble Librarians Faced With Adversity. Daniel Handler, also known as Lemony Snicket, will present Copel with the prize on June 29 during the American Library Association (ALA) Annual Conference & Exhibition in Las Vegas. Copel will receive a cash prize along with an odd, symbolic object from Handler’s private collection. 


Subscribe to Awards (Professional Recognition)