Awards (Professional Recognition)

Apply for the Friends of ALSC Mini Institute Scholarship

The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) and the Friends of ALSC recently announced a scholarship opportunity for the ALSC Mini Institute.

Call for nominations: ASCLA 2017 achievement and recognition awards

CHICAGO—Beginning September 1, 2016, the Association for Specialized and Cooperative Library Agencies (ASCLA), a division of the American Library Association, will open the nomination period for its annual series of achievement and recognition awards. Nominations and supporting materials must be submitted by February 10, 2017.

Members are encouraged to nominate their colleagues and peers to recognize exceptional library professionals that make a difference in improving the lives of the people they serve.

ALSC now accepting applications for 2017 Penguin Random House Young Readers Group Award

CHICAGO — The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) and the Grants Administration Committee are now accepting online applications for the 2017 Penguin Random House Young Readers Group Awards.  This award, made possible by an annual gift from Penguin Young Readers Group and Random House Children’s books, provides a $600 stipend for up to four children's librarians to attend their first ALA Annual Conference.

PLA receives ASAE Power of A Summit and Gold Awards for Every Child Ready to Read Literacy program

CHICAGO – The Public Library Association (PLA) has earned 2016 American Society of Association Executives (ASAE) Power of A Summit and Gold Awards for its co-creation and implementation of Every Child Ready to Read (ECRR), a research-based program that employs public libraries to teach parents how to help develop literacy skills in their children, as well as advance the training of public library staff.

South Carolina State Library chosen as site for 2017 Arbuthnot Lecture

ORLANDO — The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) announced that the 2017 May Hill Arbuthnot Committee has selected the South Carolina State Library and the city of Columbia, South Carolina to serve as the host site for the 2017 May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture featuring Jacqueline Woodson. The lecture will be held in the spring of 2017.

Quaker day school library wins ALA’s 2016 Jaffarian Award for Greensboro sit-in program

CHICAGO — The library at Friends Seminary, a private Quaker day school in New York City, has been recognized by the American Library Association (ALA) for creating an exceptional program for eighth-graders about the Greensboro sit-ins of 1960.

As the recipient of ALA’s 2016 Sara Jaffarian School Library Program Award for Exemplary Humanities Programming, the Friends Seminary library will receive $5,000 and a plaque recognizing their achievements.

Veterans Memorial Elementary School named National School Library Program of the Year

CHICAGO – Veterans Memorial Elementary School, located in Naples, Florida, is the American Association of School Librarians’ (AASL) 2016 National School Library Program of the Year (NSLPY) Award recipient. Sponsored by Follett, the NSLPY Award annually recognizes a school library program that meets the needs of the changing school and library environment and is fully integrated into the school's curriculum. The recipient receives an obelisk – the symbol of school library excellence – and $10,000 toward its school library program.

FTRF Names Katie Chamberlain Kritikos as Conable Scholarship recipient

CHICAGO — The Freedom to Read Foundation (FTRF) has selected Katie Chamberlain Kritikos as the recipient of the 2016 Gordon M. Conable Conference Scholarship. The Conable Scholarship will provide for Kritikos’s expenses to attend the 2016 American Library Association (ALA) Annual Conference in Orlando, Florida.

ASCLA selects its 2016 award winners

CHICAGO —  The Association of Specialized and Cooperative Library Agencies (ASCLA) 2016 Award winners have been selected. The awards program recognizes outstanding achievement within the library profession by librarians and libraries for significant current or past achievements, including publications, program development and leadership in the profession.