Awards (Books & Media)

RUSA presents lifetime achievement award to Statistical Abstract of the United States

WASHINGTON, D.C. — The Reference and User Services Association (RUSA) presented a Lifetime Achievement Award to the Census Bureau for the “Statistical Abstract of the United States” to acknowledge the abstract’s role as one of the premier reference sources for the past 133 years.

Dec. 1 deadline for ALCTS 2013 Publication Awards nominations

CHICAGO —Nominations are being accepted for the 2013 Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) awards for excellence in publication. ALCTS presents two publication awards to honor individuals for outstanding achievement in research and writing in the field of library collections and technical services.  

If you are interested in nominating a publication for either of the awards, contact the chair of that award jury. The deadline for nominations and supporting materials is Dec. 1.


Nazareth College and the Youth Services Section of the New York Library Association chosen as site for 2013 Arbuthnot Lecture

CHICAGO — The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) announced that the 2013 May Hill Arbuthnot Committee has chosen Nazareth College and the Youth Services Section of the New York Library Association in Rochester, N.Y. as the site of the 2013 May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture featuring Michael Morpurgo.

AASL to announce 2012 Best Websites for Teaching and Learning at ALA Annual Conference in Anaheim

CHICAGO — The American Association of School Librarians (AASL) will announce the recipients of the 2012 Best Websites for Teaching and Learning during the ALA 2012 Annual Conference in Anaheim, Calif.  The announcement will take place at 8 a.m. on Saturday, June 23, in room 213D of the Anaheim Convention Center.  For more information on this and other AASL events at ALA Annual Conference, visit

ALA and Carnegie Corporation of New York announce finalists for first Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction

CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA), along with Carnegie Corporation of New York, today announced six books as finalists for the 2012 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction, to be awarded for the previous year's best fiction and nonfiction books written for adult readers and published in the United States.  Along with a medal to be awarded at the ALA’s annual conference in Anaheim, Calif., on June 24, each winning author will receive $5,000, and four additional finalists will each receive $1,500.  

'Pacific Glory' wins the W.Y. Boyd Literary Award

CHICAGO — “Pacific Glory” by P.T. Deutermann, published by St. Martin’s Press, is the winner of the 2012 W. Y. Boyd Literary Award “for Excellence in Military Fiction.”

The W. Y. Boyd Literary Novel Award honors the best fiction set in a period when the United States was at war. The $5,000 award and citation, donated by author W.Y. Boyd II, recognizes the service of American veterans and encourages the writing and publishing of outstanding war-related fiction.

Be part of book award history at ALA Annual Conference

CHICAGO — The announcement and presentation of the first ever Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction will take place at the 2012 ALA Annual Conference from 8 p.m. - 10 p.m. on Sunday, June 24. Attendees at the event will be the first to hear which two authors win the medals for best fiction and nonfiction book for adult readers.

Carnegie-Whitney Grant 2012 award winners

CHICAGO — The Carnegie-Whitney Grant provides grants for the preparation, either in print and/or electronically, of popular or scholarly reading lists, webliographies, indexes and other guides to library resources that will be useful to users of all types of libraries in the United States. 

The American Library Association Publishing Committee is proud to announce the 2012 Carnegie-Whitney Award winners, whose proposed projects promote reading or the use of library resources.

Wendi Bost: Celebrate Florida! 500 Years of Hispanic Heritage

ALA Youth Media Awards winners post reaction videos to award’s YouTube channel

CHICAGO – On Jan. 23 the ALA announced winners of 18 awards that represent the best of the best in children’s and young adult literature and media. Several of this year’s winners and honorees have expressed their appreciation by posting videos to the ALA Youth Media awards YouTube channel at

YALSA names 2012 Popular Paperbacks for Young Adults

DALLAS —The Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), announced its 2012 list of Popular Paperbacks for Young Adults (PPYA). The list, drawn from 219 official nominations, is presented annually at the ALA Midwinter Meeting.