Awards (Books & Media)

2015 Morris finalists announced

CHICAGO — The Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA) , a division of the American Library Association (ALA), selected five books as finalists for the 2015 William C. Morris Award, which honors the year’s best books written for young adults by a previously unpublished author. YALSA will name the 2015 award winner at the Youth Media Awards at 8 a.m. on Feb. 2, in Chicago during the American Library Association’s Midwinter Meeting.

The 2015 finalists are:

Applications open for 2015 Coretta Scott King Book Donation Grants

CHICAGO — Underfunded libraries, schools and non-traditional organizations that provide educational services to children are invited to apply to receive one of three Coretta Scott King Book Donation Grants.

ALA offers unlimited virtual seats for ALA Youth Media Awards webcast

CHICAGO  — The eyes of the publishing world will turn to Chicago at 8 a.m. CT on Feb. 2, 2015, when the American Library Association (ALA) unveils the next classics in children’s and young adult literature.

New guide celebrates the 45th anniversary of the Coretta Scott King Awards

CHICAGO — Marking the 45th anniversary of the prestigious awards that honor the best in children’s and young adult literature representing the African American experience, the fifth edition of “The Coretta Scott King Awards,” published by ALA Editions, is an excellent tool for collection development,  readers’ advisory and classroom use. More than just a bibliography, this resource, edited by Carole J.

New committee includes independent bookseller for Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction

CHICAGO A new committee is set to start work on selecting the prestigious 2015 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction, awards that reflect the expert judgment and insight of library professionals who work closely with adult readers. For the first time in 2015, an independent bookseller chosen by the American Booksellers Association (ABA) is joining the committee, reflecting the impact and influence of these awards on general readers both inside and beyond the library and adding additional expertise.

Dec. 1 deadline for ALCTS 2015 Publication Awards nominations

CHICAGO  Nominations are being accepted for the 2015 Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) awards for excellence in publication. ALCTS presents two Publication Awards to honor individuals for outstanding achievement in research and writing in the field of library collections and technical services.  

DOGObooks to host landing page for YALSA’s 2014 TTT vote

CHICAGO — Today the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA) announced that DOGObooks, the largest website for kids and teens to review books, will host the voting for the 2014 Teens’ Top Ten Books Voting that opens on Aug. 15.

District of Columbia Public Library chosen as site for the 2015 Arbuthnot Lecture

CHICAGO The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) announced that the 2015 May Hill Arbuthnot Committee has chosen DC Public Library, Washington, D.C., as the site of the 2015 May Hill Arbuthnot Lecture featuring author/illustrator Brian Selznick. The honor lectureship will be held in spring 2015 in The Great Hall of the Martin Luther King Jr.

'The Goldfinch,' 'The Bully Pulpit' win 2014 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction

LAS VEGAS –The American Library Association (ALA) is pleased to announce this year’s recipients of the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction, funded through a grant from Carnegie Corporation of New York. “The Goldfinch,” by Donna Tartt received the medal for fiction, and “The Bully Pulpit: Theodore Roosevelt, William Howard Taft, and the Golden Age of Journalism,” by Doris Kearns Goodwin received the medal for nonfiction.

AASL announces 2014 Best Websites for Teaching & Learning

CHICAGO – The American Association of School Librarians (AASL) announced its 2014 Best Websites for Teaching & Learning at the American Library Association (ALA) Annual Conference in Las Vegas. The annual list honors 25 Internet sites that provide enhanced learning and curriculum development for school librarians and their teacher collaborators. Now in its sixth year, with 150 recognized sites, the list is considered the "best of the best" by AASL.