Awards (Books & Media)

2015 Teens’ Top Ten Nominees to be announced during National Library Week

CHICAGO — To celebrate National Library Week, the Young Adult Library Services (YALSA), a division of the American Library Association, will officially announce the 24 nominations for its 2015 Teens’ Top Ten on April 16, the Thursday of National Library Week.

A video and list of the nominees including annotations of each title will be available on the Teens’ Top Ten website.

ALSC Invites E-book Submissions for the 2016 Mildred L. Batchelder Award Pilot Program

CHICAGO — The Association for Library Services to Children (ALSC) announces that e-books, including a book published in both the country of origin and the United States exclusively as e-books or a book published in both countries as an e-book and print book may be submitted by a publisher to be considered for the 2016 Mildred L. Batchelder Award. This effort is part of a pilot program investigating the inclusion of E-books in the ALSC awards submissions process.

ALA unveils shortlist for 2015 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction

CHICAGO —The American Library Association (ALA) today announced the six books shortlisted for the esteemed Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction, awarded for the previous year's best fiction and nonfiction books written for adult readers and published in the U.S. As part of an announcement and medal presentation event at the 2015 ALA Annual Conference in San Francisco in June, each winning author will receive $5,000, and the four finalists will each receive $1,500. 

Selected 2015 shortlisted titles are:

IFRT accepting nominations for 2016 Eli M. Oboler Memorial Award

CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) Intellectual Freedom Round Table (IFRT) is seeking nominations for its 2016 Eli M. Oboler Memorial Award. The biennial award is presented for the best published work in the area of intellectual freedom and consists of $500 and a citation. Nominations will be accepted through Dec. 1, 2015.

Cathy Langer, Tattered Cover Bookstores, joins 2016 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction

CHICAGO — Cathy Langer, lead buyer for the independent Tattered Cover Bookstores in Denver, Colorado, joins the 2016 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction selection committee. She was chosen by the American Booksellers Association (ABA) to represent independent booksellers on the committee, reflecting the impact and influence of the awards on general readers beyond the library.

2015 Carnegie Whitney Grant winners announced

CHICAGO — The Carnegie-Whitney Grant provides grants for the preparation, either in print and/or electronically, of popular or scholarly reading lists, webliographies, indexes and other guides to library resources that will be useful to users of all types of libraries in the United States. 

The American Library Association Publishing Committee is proud to announce the 2015 Carnegie-Whitney Award winners, whose proposed projects promote reading or the use of library resources.

Berger’s Rare Books and Special Collections wins 2015 ABC-CLIO Publishing Award

CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) proudly acknowledges Sidney E. Berger as winner of the 2015 ABC-CLIO Award for the Best Book in Library Literature for "Rare Books and Special Collections," published by ALA Neal-Schuman. This award recognizes books that assist library professionals or information specialists in areas of management, technique and education.

Swanson Best of LRTS Award to Christine Turner

CHICAGO—Christine N. Turner, electronic resources librarian at University of Massachusetts Amherst, has been awarded the 2015 Edward Swanson Memorial Best of LRTS Award for the article, "E-Resource Acquisitions in Academic Library Consortia," published in Library Resources & Technical Services (LRTS), volume 58, number 1, January 2014, pages 33-48.

ALSC invites applications for 2016 Arbuthnot Lecture with Pat Mora

CHICAGO - The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) and the 2016 May Hill Arbuthnot Lecture Committee are proud to announce the opening of the application to host the 2016 event featuring award-winning children’s book author and pioneering literacy advocate Pat Mora.