Public Awareness Office

Midwinter attendees hear about groundbreaking community engagement initiative, discuss future of libraries

SEATTLE - Librarians and library supporters gathered in Seattle from Jan. 25-29 to discuss ways that libraries can engage and transform their communities, as well as keep current on the issues facing public, school, academic and special libraries. Those topics included ebook lending, increasing technological change and the rapid growth of social media.

They also came to celebrate the best of the best in children’s and youth literature with the unveiling of the 2013 Youth Media Awards.

ALA will continue funding the American Dream Starts @ your library®

CHICAGO – Thanks to a generous grant from the Dollar General Literacy Foundation, the American Library Association (ALA) and its Office for Literacy and Outreach Services (OLOS) will continue funding the American Dream Starts @ your library®, a literacy initiative for adult English language learners and their families.

2013 Sydney Taylor Book Awards Announced by AJL

SEATTLE - Linda Glaser and Adam Gustavson, author and illustrator of "Hannah’s Way," Louise Borden author of "His Name Was Raoul Wallenberg," and Deborah Heiligman, author of "Intentions," are the 2013 winners of the prestigious Sydney Taylor Book Award. The awards were announced at the Mid-Winter Meeting of the School, Synagogue and Community Center Division of the Association of Jewish Libraries.

American Library Association announces 2013 youth media award winners

SEATTLE — The American Library Association (ALA) today announced the top books, video and audiobooks for children and young adults – including the Caldecott, Coretta Scott King, Newbery and Printz awards – at its Midwinter Meeting in Seattle.

A list of all the 2013 award winners follows:

John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children's literature:

Sheinkin wins 2013 Sibert Medal

SEATTLE — Steve Sheinkin, author of “Bomb: The Race to Build—and Steal—the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon,” was named the winner of the 2013 Robert F. Sibert Medal for the most distinguished informational book for children published in 2012. The award was announced today by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), during the ALA Midwinter Meeting held Jan. 25 – 29 in Seattle.

David Díaz y Benjamín Alire Sáenz ganan premios Pura Belpré

SEATTLE — David Díaz, ilustrador de “Martín de Porres: The Rose in the Desert”; y Benjamín Alire Sáenz, autor de “Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe”fueron seleccionados como los ganadores del Premio de Ilustración Pura Belpré 2013, y el Premio al Autor Pura Belpré 2013 respectivamente. La distinción rinde homenaje a los escritores e ilustradores hispanos cuyas obras constituyan el mejor reflejo, afirmación y celebración de la experiencia cultural hispana en la literatura infantil.

Demetria Tucker 2013 recipient of the Coretta Scott King-Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement

SEATTLE — Demetria Tucker is the recipient of the 2013 Coretta Scott King-Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement. The announcement was made today by the American Library Association (ALA), during the ALA Midwinter Meeting, held Jan. 25 – 29 in Seattle.

“Through consummate dedication and nurturing, Demetria Tucker has for more than 30 years served as an inspiration for children and their families in Virginia’s public and school libraries,” stated Award Committee Chair Pauletta Brown Bracy.

Andrea Davis Pinkney, Bryan Collier win 2013 Coretta Scott King Book Awards

SEATTLE — Andrea Davis Pinkney, author of “Hand in Hand: Ten Black Men Who Changed America,” and Bryan Collier, illustrator of “I, Too, Am America,” are the winners of the 2013 Coretta Scott King Book Awards honoring African American authors and illustrators of outstanding books for children and young adults. The awards were announced today at the American Library Association (ALA) Midwinter Meeting, being held Jan. 24 – 29 in Seattle and will be presented in Chicago at the ALA Annual Conference in June.

Brilliance Audio wins 2013 Odyssey Award for The Fault in Our Stars

SEATTLE — Brilliance Audio, producer of the audiobook, “The Fault in Our Stars” won the 2013 Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production. The award announcement was made today during the American Library Association (ALA) Midwinter Meeting held Jan. 25 – 29 in Seattle.

'Seraphina' wins 2013 William C. Morris Award

SEATTLE —“Seraphina” written by Rachel Hartman, has been named the 2013 winner of the William C. Morris Award, which honors a book written for young adults by a previously unpublished author. The award was presented by the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA) at the American Library Association’s Midwinter Meeting held Jan. 25–29 in Seattle.


Subscribe to Public Awareness Office