Public Awareness Office

Fall into autumn @ your library

CHICAGO — With students immersed in the school year and the cooler temperatures, the library is the place to check out both academic and extracurricular indoor programs this fall.

Below are just a few examples of what libraries across the country are doing when it comes to fall programming at their libraries.

Libraries encourage parents to dare teens to read

CHICAGO — What do the Twilight, Hunger Games and Harry Potter books have in common? Teens enjoy reading them for the fun of it! This year Teen Read Week™ will be celebrated Oct. 14 – 20. Libraries, schools and bookstores across the world will offer a variety of special events and programs aimed at encouraging teens to read for pleasure and to turn to the library as a source for free reading materials.

ALA welcomes DPLA to Chicago, library community members invited to attend

CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) extends its welcome to attendees of DPLA Midwest and invites members of the library community to attend.

Taking place on Oct. 11-12, 2012 in Chicago, DPLA Midwest is the third major public event bringing together librarians, technologists, creators, students, government leaders and others interested in building a Digital Public Library of America.

Library community works to address the demographic shift

More than 800 attend the Joint Conference of Librarians of Color

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — The Joint Conference of Librarians of Color (JCLC), Sept. 19 -23, came to a close with a powerful message from author and activist Jamal Joseph – “libraries empower the communities that they serve.”  Joseph’s closing note summed up the conference, themed “Gathering at the Waters: Embracing our Spirits, Telling our Stories,” which provided more than 800 attendees with strategies on how to prepare for the demographic shift. 

ALA President expresses deep concern and dismay about closure of Georgia Archives to the public

CHICAGO — American Library Association (ALA) President Maureen Sullivan sent  the following letter to Georgia Governor Nathan Deal regarding the recent announcement to close the Georgia Archives to the public:

Still time to apply for the Scholastic Library Publishing National Library Week Grant

CHICAGO — There is less than a week left to apply for the  2013 Scholastic Library Publishing National Library Week Grant. The library that develops the best public awareness campaign using the National Library Week theme will be awarded $3,000 to promote its library and library services.

Celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month @ your library

CHICAGO — Each year, National Hispanic Heritage Month begins on Sept. 15, commemorating Independence Day for five Latin American countries: Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua. During the month, Mexico and Chile also celebrate independence on Sept. 16 and 18, respectively. 

This year, libraries will celebrate National Hispanic Heritage Month, and the histories, cultures and contributions of American citizens whose ancestors came from Spain, Mexico, the Caribbean and Central and South America.

A free library card is your ticket to back-to-school savings

Families flock to libraries for Library Card Sign-up Month

CHICAGO - According to the latest projections from the International Council of Shopping Centers, Americans will spend more than $40 billion on back-to-school supplies. Libraries are not sources for back-to-school fashion, but do provide access to library programs and services that help families save hundreds of dollars and support academic achievement.    

'60 Ways to Use Your Library Card' slideshow now available for Library Card Sign-up Month

CHICAGO – In celebration of September's Library Card Sign-up Month, a slideshow featuring "60 Ways to Use Your Library Card" is now available. 

Libraries can embed the slideshow, which scrolls through examples like, "Learn how to write a business plan" and "Get help with homework," on their own websites or blogs.

Libraries prepare for Library Card Sign-up Month 2012

CHICAGO – September is Library Card Sign-up Month, and libraries are preparing for the promotion, a time when libraries across the country remind parents that a library card is the most important school supply of all.

Check out how these libraries are planning on celebrating.


Subscribe to Public Awareness Office