Governance Office

Elizabeth Aversa receives the 2013 Beta Phi Mu Award

CHICAGO - Dr. Elizabeth Aversa, professor of library and information science at the University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, Ala., has been selected to receive the American Library Association’s 2013 Beta Phi Mu Award. This annual award, donated by the Beta Phi Mu International Library Science Honorary Society, is presented to a library school faculty member or to an individual who demonstrates distinguished service to education in librarianship.

Heather Ketron named Scholastic Library Publishing Award winner

CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) has named Heather Ketron the recipient of the 2013 Scholastic Library Publishing Award. The honor, which will be presented during the ALA Annual Conference in Chicago, is bestowed on a librarian whose extraordinary contributions to promoting access to books and encouraging a love of reading for lifelong learning exemplifies outstanding achievement in the profession. Ketron will receive a citation and $1,000 prize, donated by Scholastic Library Publishing.

Applications for new ALA Leadership Institute due May 10

CHICAGO - There is still time to consider applying - or nominating a colleague - for Leading to the Future, a four-day immersive leadership development program for future library leaders offered by the American Library Association (ALAAug.

EBSCO awards seven scholarships for librarians to attend 2013 ALA Annual Meeting

Birmingham, Ala. / Ipswich, Mass/Chicago — In co-sponsorship with the American Library Association (ALA), EBSCO has awarded seven librarians $1,000 scholarships to attend the ALA Annual Meeting in Chicago, June 27– July 2, 2013.

Vote in the 2013 ALA elections on your Smartphone!

CHICAGO - Did you know that you can vote in the 2013 ALA elections on your Smartphone and other mobile devices?  You are no longer tied to your desktop to cast your vote; you can vote virtually anywhere – in line at the grocery store, on the bus, at the hairdresser! (But we do ask that you refrain from voting while driving!)  Just log in using the URL and credentials that were sent to you between March 19 and March 21; it’s just that easy.  

Scottsdale Public Library System’s 'Leadership Skydiving' program awarded H.W. Wilson Staff Development Grant

CHICAGO - The Scottsdale (Ariz.) Public Library System has been named as the H.W. Wilson Library Staff Development Grant recipient for 2013, for the system’s “Leadership Skydiving” program. 

2013 ALA elections open March 19

CHICAGO — Voting in the 2013 ALA elections began at 9 a.m. Central time on March 19, 2013.  Between March 19 and March 21, the ALA will notify voters by email, providing them with their unique passcodes and information about how to vote online. The polls will close on Friday, April 26 at 11:59 p.m. Central time. 

The American Library Association honors Elizabeth Martinez with the 2013 Equality Award

CHICAGO— Elizabeth Martinez, library director, Salinas Public Library (Calif.) is the 2013 recipient of the American Library Association Equality Award. The annual award, $1000 and a framed citation of achievement donated by Scarecrow Press, a member of the Rowman & Littlefield Publishing Group, is given to an individual or group for outstanding contributions toward promoting equality in the library profession.

Gale Cengage Learning Financial Development Award recipient named

CHICAGO - The University of Massachusetts Amherst Libraries is the winner of the prestigious Gale Cengage Learning Financial Development Award.  The award is presented annually to a library organization that exhibits meritorious achievement in creating new means of funding for a public or academic library. 

The University at Massachusetts Amherst Libraries developed the Library Sustainability Fund to engage philanthropic support from faculty, students, alumni and friends who recognize the value of the rapidly-growing field of sustainability studies.

Carla D. Hayden receives the 2013 Joseph W. Lippincott Award

CHICAGO—2013 marks the 75th anniversary of the Joseph W Lippincott Award, which honors distinguished service to the profession of librarianship.  Presented every year since 1938, the award is named for Joseph W. Lippincott a noted publisher, author, naturalist and sportsman of the J.B. Lippincott Company and independent Philadelphia publisher that was acquired by Harper & Row in 1978.