Reference and User Services Association

LeBeau elected RUSA 2017-2018 president

CHICAGO — Chris LeBeau, assistant teaching professor /learning and research librarian at the University of Missouri, iSchool / University of Missouri-Kansas City, has been elected the 2017-2018 president of the Reference and User Services Association, (RUSA). Prior to working in her current position, LeBeau was the reference librarian and coordinator of electronic services at Creighton University.

Be RUSA's guest and learn to create emotional resonance at your library

CHICAGO — Dave Cobb will be the keynote speaker at the President’s Program hosted by the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA) at the upcoming ALA Annual Conference in Orlando, Florida.

RUSA appoints Celia Ross as new vendor relations liaison

CHICAGO—The President of the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA), Anne Houston, has appointed Celia Ross, Associate Librarian at the Ross School of Business, University of Michigan as Vendor Relations Liaison.

2017 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction Selection Committee announced

The 2017 committee is starting work on selecting titles for the longlist for these prestigious awards, now in their sixth year. Since 2015, the shortlist announcements are being made in October (for books published during that calendar year) and winner announcements in January at the ALA Midwinter Meeting. The celebratory event continues to be held at ALA Annual Conference each June.

The 2017 committee includes the following experts who work closely with adult readers.

Baich and Steiner selected as 2016 interlibrary loan achievement award recipients

CHICAGO—The Sharing and Transforming Access to Resources Section (STARS) of RUSA has selected the winners of its two achievement awards honoring librarians providing exceptional service in the fields of interlibrary loan, resource sharing and document delivery.

Hammill named winner of Reference Services Section's Service Achievement Award

CHICAGO— Sarah J. Hammill, business and online learning librarian at Florida International University, was selected as the 2016 winner of the RSS Service Achievement Award. The award recognizes a member that has made exceptional contributions to RUSA’s Reference Services Section.

LaGuardia named winner of RUSA’s highest honor for achievements in reference services

CHICAGO-- Cheryl LaGuardia, research librarian at the Widener Library of Harvard University, has been awarded the 2016 Isadore Gilbert Mudge Award, RUSA’s highest honor for her distinguished and multifaceted contributions to reference librarianship.

Sponsored by Credo Reference, the award consists of $5,000 and a citation which will be presented at the ALA Annual Conference in Orlando.

Padilla, McNabb named award winners for historical and genealogical research and achievements

CHICAGO—The History section of RUSA has selected the winners of its two achievement awards honoring librarians and their contributions to the fields of genealogical and historical research and services.

Boatright recognized for outstanding achievements in RUSA’s Emerging Technologies Section

CHICAGO—Beth Boatright, information services and instruction librarian, Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne, was selected as the 2016 winner of the Emerging Technologies Section (ETS) Achievement Recognition Award.

Boatright will be presented with a citation at the RUSA Achievement Awards Ceremony and Reception at the ALA Annual Conference in Orlando.

Dr. Bell Griffin, 'Multimedia & Technology Reviews' named winners for promotion of African American literature, reviewing

CHICAGO— The Collection Development and Evaluation Section (CODES) of RUSA has selected the winners of two achievement awards which recognize the profession’s most exceptional contributors to readers’ advisory and collection development.

Dr. Florita Bell Griffin, creative director of ARC Communications, LLC, a Texas-based Visual Art Communications and Publishing Company, was announced as the 2016 winner of the Zora Neale Hurston Award.