Sullivan Award for Public Library Administrators Supporting Services to Children

For Immediate Release
Tue, 11/19/2019


Cheryl Malden

Program Officer


American Library Association


CHICAGO — Do you know of a public library administrator who has made significant contributions in support of public library service to children?

The Sullivan Award recognizes an individual who has shown exceptional understanding and support of public library service to children while having general management, supervisory, administrative responsibility that has included public service to children in its scope.  This award is presented annually.

The annual award consists of a commemorative gift and a gold-framed citation.

The Sullivan Award was established in 2004 by Dr. Peggy Sullivan, who was President of ALA’s Children’s Services Division (now the Association for Library Services to Children – ALSC) (1976–1977), Chair Centennial Celebration of the American Library Association (1976), assistant commissioner for extension services at the Chicago Public Library (1977–1981), ALA president (1980–1981), ALA executive director (1992–1994), Dean of the LIS Program at Rosary College (now Dominican University), Dean of the College of Professional Studies at Northern Illinois University, and numerous university teaching positions. Sullivan served as director of the Knapp School Libraries Project (1963–1968). This project had a significant national impact on convincing the public of the need for high-quality school library media programs.

The award is administered by the American Library Association (ALA). Please complete the online application, including the following information in the supporting documentation as an attachment:

  • Brief Career Summary - Title, Library, Dates (Chronological order)
  • Educational Background
  • Membership/Participation in Professional Organizations - Functions, Dates
  • Publications, Productions, and Presentations
  • Other significant contributions

An online nomination form and printable PDF nomination form (

The deadline for nominations is Feb. 1, 2020.