Jennifer Sturge receives AASL Ruth Toor Grant for Strong Public School Libraries

For Immediate Release
Mon, 05/13/2019


Jennifer Habley

Manager, Web Communications

American Association of School Librarians (AASL)


CHICAGO – Jennifer Sturge, specialist for school libraries and digital learning for Calvert County Public Schools in Prince Frederick, Maryland, is the recipient of the 2019 American Association of School Librarians' (AASL) Ruth Toor Grant for Strong Public School Libraries. Sponsored by Jay Toor, the grant provides $3,000 in funding for the creation and implementation of a local public awareness/marketing campaign that promotes and positions the school library as a necessary resource in the community.

Sturge’s project will encompass the six middle school-level libraries in Calvert County Public Schools and has the potential to reach 6,200 students in the district. Implementation of the project will allow Sturge and the school librarians to forge relationships with middle school teachers and to become more familiar with the curriculum in the areas of social studies, English, math, and science. School librarians and teachers will collaborate on quarterly activities that will take place in the school library.

Promotion will consist of bookmarks, flyers, and webpages that advertise middle school library services. A copy of the bookmark will be provided to every student in the building and will include information on digital platforms and library hours. Students will also be encouraged to bring their bookmark to the library for a stamp each time they check out a book to read for pleasure. 

“The project had so much going for it,” explained Hilda Weisburg, award committee chair. “All the school librarians are involved and there are quarterly sessions for teachers before or after school showcasing library resources. The project will build strong relationships in the buildings with teachers, parents, administrators, and, most importantly, students.”

The AASL award winners will be honored at the AASL Awards Ceremony during the 2019 ALA Annual Conference in Washington, D.C. The ceremony will be held from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. on Saturday, June 22. All are welcome to celebrate the accomplishments of their peers during this recognition event.

The American Association of School Librarians,, a division of the American Library Association (ALA), empowers leaders to transform teaching and learning.