New Jersey Association of School Librarians receives AASL Past-Presidents Planning Grant for National School Library Standards

For Immediate Release
Tue, 03/26/2019


Jennifer Habley

Manager, Web Communications

American Association of School Librarians (AASL)


CHICAGO – The New Jersey Association of School Librarians (NJASL) has been named one of three 2019 recipients of the American Association of School Librarians’ (AASL) Past-Presidents Planning Grant for National School Library Standards. The $2,500 grants, awarded in honor of AASL past presidents, are presented annually to AASL Affiliate organizations for the planning and execution of an event, initiative or activity focused on the implementation of AASL's National School Library Standards for Learners, School Librarians, and School Libraries.

NJASL is the recipient of the planning grant awarded in honor of Helen R. Adams and sponsored by Cassandra Barnett. NJASL plans to use the funds to deliver the "ALL Aboard! Leader Planning Workshop" where teams of at least three, including a librarian, a collaborative teacher, and an administrator, will form a collaborative team to shift the balance of understanding and implementing the standards to the shared ownership of the collaborative team. This programming is an extension of a previous train-the-trainer program, a one-day workshop for county representatives to learn the standards and build strategies for connecting NJASL's full membership to implementation of the AASL Standards in local school districts.

"The committee was impressed with this effort to embed standards awareness in leadership teams that include more than the campus librarians," said Dorcas Hand, award committee chair. "Administrators and instructional leaders will join the librarians to learn how to strengthen campus offerings based on the AASL Standards and directly impact learners throughout the state of New Jersey." 

The AASL award winners will be honored at the AASL Awards Ceremony during the 2019 ALA Annual Conference in Washington, D.C. The ceremony will be held from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. on Saturday, June 22. All are welcome to celebrate the accomplishments of their peers during this recognition event.

The American Association of School Librarians,, a division of the American Library Association (ALA), empowers leaders to transform teaching and learning.