ALSC invites applications for 2020 Arbuthnot Lecture with Neil Gaiman

For Immediate Release
Fri, 03/15/2019


Alena Rivers

Deputy Director

Association for Library Service to Children

American Library Association


CHICAGO--The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) and the 2020 May Hill Arbuthnot Lecture Committee are proud to announce the opening of the application to host the 2020 event featuring author, Neil Gaiman.


The Arbuthnot Lecture is an annual event, announced at the American Library Association’s Midwinter Meeting, in which an author, critic, librarian, historian or teacher of children’s literature presents a paper that makes a significant contribution to the field. A library school, department of education in a college or university or a children’s library system may be considered. The lecture is administered by ALSC.

Host site application forms can be accessed through the 2020 Arbuthnot website. The application deadline is May 15, 2019. Information about host site responsibilities is included in the application materials. The lecture traditionally is held in April or early May.


In January, Neil Gaiman was selected by the Arbuthnot Lecture Committee to speak in 2020.


"The Arbuthnot selection committee considered Gaiman's body of literary work for children and scholars, as well as his fierce advocacy for libraries, librarians and literacy," said 2020 Arbuthnot Committee Chair, Lisa Von Drasek.


Neil Gaiman's work has been honored with many awards internationally, including the Newbery Medal. He is credited with being one of the creators of modern comics, as well as an author whose work crosses genres and reaches audiences of all ages. Gaiman is a prolific creator of works of prose, poetry, film, journalism, comics, song lyrics, and drama and a vocal defender of the freedom to read.


ALSC established this lecture series in 1969, with sponsorship from Scott, Foresman and Company (now Pearson Scott Foresman) in honor of author May Hill Arbuthnot. The lectureship, now funded by the ALSC May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Endowment, has the distinction of featuring many notable authors, critics, librarians, historians, and teachers of children’s literature from various countries. Past lecturers over the decades have included Mary Ørvig, Leland B. Jacobs, Virginia Hamilton, Maurice Sendak and Richard Jackson.


The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) is driven by more than 4,000 members dedicated to the support and enrichment of library service to children. Our members include youth librarians, literature experts, publishers and educational faculty. ALSC supports its members in engaging communities to build healthy, successful, futures for all children. To learn more about ALSC and how to join, please visit our website at