Free webinar—Blockchain: Recommendations for the Information Professions

For Immediate Release
Tue, 07/31/2018

Contact:

Colton Ursiny

Administrative Assistant

ALA Publishing eLearning Solutions

cursiny@ala.org

CHICAGO—Blockchain technology is being discussed widely, but without clear directions for library applications. The Blockchain National Forum, funded by IMLS and held at San Jose State University’s iSchool in Summer 2018, brought together notable experts in the information professions, business, government, and urban planning to discuss the issues and develop recommendations on the future uses of blockchain technology within the information professions. In this free webinar, Drs. Sandy Hirsh and Sue Alman, co-PIs of the project, will present the recommendations made throughout the year in the Blockchain blog, Library 2.0 Conference, Blockchain Applied: Impact on the Information Profession, and the National Forum.

This free webinar takes place on Monday, September 24, 2018 at 1:00pm Eastern/12:00pm Central/11:00am Mountain/10:00am Pacific. Register now by clicking here.

ALA Publishing eLearning Solutions (ELS) produces high-quality professional development events and materials for the library profession. ELS events cover modern issues on a wide variety of topics in formats that include live workshops, asynchronous eCourses, and print publications. We help ensure that today’s library employees have access to the professional development opportunities they need, whether they are brushing up on the basics or expanding their horizons with cutting-edge tools. Contact us at elsmarketing@ala.org.

The SJSU iSchool prepares individuals for professional careers in the information professions. Graduates work in diverse areas, such as information governance, user experience design, digital asset management, information architecture, electronic records management, and librarianship. The  SJSU iSchool offers several online educational programs, including a Master’s degree in Library and Information Science, which is fully accredited by the American Library Association; a Master’s degree in Archives and Records Administration; and a Post-Master’s Certificate in Library and Information Science. All programs are delivered online, and the SJSU iSchool is a recognized leader in online education. For more information about the school, please visit: http://ischool.sjsu.edu.