Carla J. Stoffle wins 2018 Melvil Dewey Medal

For Immediate Release
Mon, 05/07/2018


Cheryl Malden

Program Officer


American library Association


CHICAGO – Carla J. Stoffle, professor, School of Information University of Arizona, is the winner of the 2018 Melvil Dewey Medal.  This annual award, presented by the American Library Association (ALA) and sponsored by Online Computer Library Center (OCLC), recognizes “creative leadership of high order, particularly in those fields in which Melvil Dewey was actively interested:  library management, library training, cataloging and classification, and the tools and techniques of librarianship.”

“The jury for this year's Melvil Dewey Medal is pleased to honor Professor Carla J. Stoffle for her extraordinary leadership in library management and instruction during a distinguished career spanning forty-four years,” said Julius C. Jefferson Jr., jury chair. Despite retiring as Dean of Libraries in 2013 Professor Stoffle still remains active in the profession as a faculty member in the School of Information. The jury noted her many accomplishments throughout her career in organizational change and management, as an instructor, author, speaker and mentor, and her leadership in professional associations such as ALA, ACRL, ARL, CRL, Amigos and the Greater Western Library Alliance.

Stoffle, who spent over 20 years as the dean of Libraries and Center for Creative Photography at the University of Arizona, made significant contributions in the advancement in organizational and fiscal management, library instruction and diversity. Of her many accomplishments the committee gave particular attention to her role as the co-creator, and continuing supporter, of Knowledge River, a program that has trained over 200 librarians adding to the diversity to the profession across all types of libraries. Knowledge River is now in its 17th year within the University of Arizona School of Information. In addition,  Stoffle was recognized for her leadership in the profession as president of ACRL and ALA treasurer.

Among the many letters of support one noted that, “Dr. Stoffle has done it all and has been a dedicated professional who challenges you to think, participate, and base decisions on values. “

The 2018 Melvil Dewey Medal will be presented at the ALA’s President’s program, Sunday, June 23, during the ALA Annual Conference in New Orleans.

In addition to Chair Julius C. Jefferson Jr., Section Head, Library of Congress, the members of the 2018 Melvil Dewey Medal jury are:  Maxine Bleiweis, Retired Librarian, Bridgeport, Connecticut, Pat Smith, retired executive director, Texas Library Association, Dorothy Persson, Retired, Iowa City, Iowa,  and Elizabeth Joseph, coordinator, Information & Adult Services, Ferguson Library, Stamford Connecticut.

More information about the Melvil Dewey Award, including how to submit a nomination is available on the ALA website.