Sally Gardner Reed Receives the 2018 Joseph W. Lippincott Award

For Immediate Release
Tue, 04/17/2018


Cheryl Malden

Program Officer


American Library Association


CHICAGO – Sally Gardner Reed is the winner of the 2018 Joseph W. Lippincott Award.  This award is sponsored by Joseph W. Lippincott III and presented by the American Library Association for distinguished service to the profession of librarianship.

“The jury for the 2018 Joseph W. Lippincott Award is delighted to honor Sally Gardner Reed for her many accomplishments during a long, varied and distinguished career as a library administrator, author and advocate for libraries at the national, state and local levels,“ said jury chair Winston Tabb, Sheridan Dean of University Libraries and Museums at Johns Hopkins University.

Among the achievements specifically noted by the Lippincott jury and the many colleagues and admirers  who wrote in support of this award are Sally Reed’s outstanding service as Executive Director of FOLUSA (Friends of Libraries USA), where she encouraged and oversaw the integration of FOLUSA into ALA, ultimately leading to United for Libraries, a powerful voice for our libraries and their users; and her leadership in establishing the Virtual March on Washington and providing effective advice both nationally and internationally on issues critical to our libraries, such as advocacy, fundraising, board development, strategic planning, and community engagement.

The jury also recognized her role as a passionate teacher and trainer via lectures, webinars, workshops, and publications; and her extensive contributions to ALA through service on the Executive Board and numerous committees.

“Sally is widely and enthusiastically praised for serving as an extraordinary mentor and role model to countless colleagues who variously referred to her as “visionary,” “inspirational,” “selfless,” and “the quintessential library champion.”

The 2018 Joseph W. Lippincott Award will be presented at the ALA Awards Ceremony on June   , during the ALA Annual Conference in New Orleans.

In addition to Chair Tabb, the members of the 2018 Joseph W. Lippincott Award jury are:  Susan Anderson, Illinois Wesleyan University; Robin Kear, University of Pittsburgh; William Newbold Schultz III, Eastern Illinois University; and Lynn Wheeler, Carroll County (MD) Public Library.

The deadline for submission of applications for the 2019 Joseph W. Lippincott Award is Feb. 1, 2019.

Guidelines and application forms are available on the ALA website.