Free webinar—ALA Essentials: An Inside Look at a New Training Resource

For Immediate Release
Tue, 03/06/2018

Contact:

Colton Ursiny

Administrative Assistant

ALA Publishing eLearning Solutions

cursiny@ala.org

CHICAGO — In this free 45-minute webinar, learn about ALA Essentials for Library Workers, a series of prerecorded training and informational sessions that can help onboard new employees and provide important refreshers for current staff. This new series can help you and your staff develop their skills. When staff is familiar with the basic principles and core values of librarianship, they can be more effective and engaged.

This free webinar provides you with a sneak peek at what’s covered in this 5-part training series. You’ll learn tips for how you can help provide equitable access to materials and services for your community and strategies to make your library more welcoming and inclusive.

Leveraging ALA’s unique, industry-leading expertise, ALA Essentials for Library Workers offers library-specific training on intellectual freedom, serving patrons with disabilities, customer service, security, and diversity. Cathy Hakala-Ausperk, a former library director and current library consultant, discusses the need for this type of training from an administrator perspective.

This free webinar takes place Friday, March 16, 2018 at 1 p.m. Eastern/noon Central/11 a.m. Mountain/10 a.m. Pacific. Register now by clicking here.

ALA Publishing eLearning Solutions (ELS) produces high-quality professional development events and materials for the library profession. ELS events cover modern issues on a wide variety of topics in formats that include live workshops, asynchronous eCourses, and print publications. We help ensure that today’s library employees have access to the professional development opportunities they need, whether they are brushing up on the basics or expanding their horizons with cutting-edge tools. Contact us at elsmarketing@ala.org.

ALA Store purchases fund advocacy, awareness, and accreditation programs for library professionals worldwide.