Applications available for ALA Awards and Grants

For Immediate Release
Tue, 11/28/2017


Cheryl Malden

Program Officer


American library Association


CHICAGO – Don't miss out.  Do you want to attend Annual Conference in New Orleans?  The deadline for the EBSCO Conference Sponsorship is Dec 1.  Also nominate yourself, colleagues or your library for the 2018 American Library Association (ALA) Recognition Awards and Grants.  Unless otherwise noted, the deadlines are Feb. 1, 2018. 

For general information about these and other ALA awards, visit

Beta Phi Mu Award is presented to a faculty member of a library school or an individual for distinguished service to education in librarianship.  The award includes $1,000 and a gold-framed citation donated by Beta Phi Mu International Library Science Honorary Society.  Application 

W. Y. Boyd Literary Award is given to an author of a military novel that honors the service of American veterans during a time of war: 1861-1865, 1914-1918 or 1939-1945.  The award includes $5,000 and a gold-framed citation, donated by William Young Boyd.  The deadline is Dec1, 2017 Application

Melvil Dewey Medal honors an individual or group for a recent creative professional achievement in library management, training, cataloging and classification, or the tools and techniques of librarianship. The award includes $2,000, a Dewey Medal and a gold-framed citation, donated OCLC/Forest Press, Inc.   Application

EBSCO ALA Conference Sponsorship provides seven $1,000 awards to help librarians attend ALA’s Annual Conference, deadline Dec. 1. To apply for this award, applicants must submit an essay of no more than 250 words.  The award is donated by EBSCO Information Services.    Application

Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award recognizes and honors a librarian for investing time and talent to make a positive change in the profession of librarianship.  The award includes $1,000 and a gold-framed citation, donated by the Elizabeth Futas Memorial Fund. The biannual award application deadline is.  Application

Equality Award honors an individual or group for an outstanding contribution that promotes equality in the library profession.  The award includes $1,000 and a gold-framed citation donated by Rowman & Littlefield Publishing Group.   Application

ALA Excellence in Library Programming Award – An annual award that recognizes either a school or public library that demonstrates excellence in library programming by providing programs having community impact and responding to community needs.  Advocacy, partnerships and creativity of use of resources, regardless of the size of the library, will be taken into consideration donated by ALA Cultural Community Fund.  Application

Paul Howard Award for Courage honors a librarian, library board, library group or an individual who has exhibited unusual courage for the benefit of library programs or services.  The award, given every two years, includes $1,000 and a gold-framed citation, donated by Paul Howard.  Bi-annual award application deadline is February 1, 2019.  Application

Ernest A. DiMattia, Jr. Award for Innovation and Service to Community and Profession – An annual award for innovation, and service to community and profession.  The award includes $5,000 and a gold-framed citation donated by the family of Ernest A. DiMattia, Jr.  Application

Gale, A Cengage Company Financial Development Award is given to a library organization that exhibited meritorious achievement in carrying out a library financial development project to secure new funding resources for a public or academic library.  The award includes $2,500 and a gold-framed citation, donated by Gale, A Cengage Company.   Application

Ken Haycock Award for Promoting Librarianship honors an individual for contributing significantly to the public recognition and appreciation of librarianship through professional performance, teaching and/or writing.  The award includes $1,000 and a gold-framed citation, donated by Ken Haycock, PhD.    Application

ALA Information Today Library of the Future Award honors a library, library consortium, group of librarians or support organization for their innovative planning for, applications of or development of patron training programs about information technology in a library setting. The award includes $1,500 and a  gold-framed citation, donated by Information Today, Inc. Application    

Lemony Snicket Prize for Noble Librarians Faced with Adversity honors a librarian who has faced adversity with dignity and integrity intact.  The award includes $10,000 and an odd symbolic object from Lemony Snicket’s private stash.  Donor: Daniel Handler a.k.a. Lemony Snicket.  Application

Joseph W. Lippincott Award is given to a librarian for distinguished service to the profession.  To qualify, the librarian must display outstanding participation in professional library activities, notable published professional writing or other significant activities on behalf of the profession.  The award includes $1,500 and a gold-framed citation, donated by Joseph W. Lippincott, III.  Application

Scholastic Library Publishing Award (formerly Grolier) honors a librarian whose “unusual contribution” to the stimulation and guidance of children’s and young adult reading exemplifies outstanding achievement in the profession.  The award includes $1,000 and a gold-framed citation, donated by Scholastic Library Publishing. Application

Sullivan Award for Public Library Administrators Supporting Services to Children honors an individual who has shown exceptional understanding and support of library service to children while having general management/supervisory/ administrative responsibility that has included public library service to children in its scope.  The recipient will receive a plaque and recognition artifact.  The donor is Peggy Sullivan. Application

H.W. Wilson Library Staff Development Grant is awarded to a library organization for a program to further its staff development goals and objectives.  The award includes $3,500 and a gold-framed citation, donated by EBSCO Publishing.  Application