'Most Dangerous' wins 2016 Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults Award

For Immediate Release
Mon, 01/11/2016


Macey Morales

Deputy Director

Public Awareness Office

American Library Association

312 280 4393


BOSTON – “Most Dangerous: Daniel Ellsberg and the Secret History of the Vietnam War” written by Steve Sheinkin, and published by Roaring Brook Press, an imprint of Macmillan’s Children’s Publishing Group, has been named the 2016 winner of the YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults Award,  the first national award that honors the best nonfiction books for teens. The award was presented today by the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA) at the American Library Association’s Midwinter Meeting & Exhibits held Jan.8-12, in Boston.

Sheinkin’s thrilling journalistic account of government insider Daniel Ellsberg, who leaked the Pentagon Papers, is a cinematic work that crackles with excitement. This timely exploration of American history examines the United States’ involvement in the Vietnam War, details the reversal of one man’s loyalties, and explores honor and morality.

“With Sheinkin’s extensive research, taut writing, and excellent pacing, Most Dangerous is a distinguished book that trusts the intelligence of its teen audience,” stated YALSA Nonfiction Award Chair Gregory D. Lum.

The YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults honors the best nonfiction book published for young adults (ages 12-18) during a Nov. 1 – Oct. 31 publishing year. Award winners are announced annually during the ALA Midwinter Meeting & Exhibits’ Youth Media Awards. The award will be presented to Steve Sheinkin at a reception in Boston on January 11th, 10:30am – 12:00pm, room 205BC of the Boston Convention & Exhibition Center.

2016 YALSA Nonfiction Award finalists, which were announced in December, include:

  • “Enchanted Air: Two Cultures, Two Wings: A Memoir” written by Margarita Engle, and published by Atheneum Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing;
  • “First Flight Around the World: The Adventures of the American Fliers Who Won the Race” written by Tim Grove,  and published by Abrams Books for Young Readers, an imprint of ABRAMS;
  • “Symphony for the City of the Dead:  Dmitri Shostakovich and the Siege of Leningrad” written by M.T. Anderson, and published by Candlewick Press;
  • “This Strange Wilderness:  The Life and Art of John James Audubon” written by Nancy Plain, and published by University of Nebraska Press

The full list of official nominations for the award will be available online at www.ala.org/yalsa/nonfiction.


Members of the 2016 YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults award committee are: Chair Gregory D. Lum, library director, Jesuit High School and instructor, Portland (Ore.) State University;  Jerene D. Battisti, King County (Wash.) Library System;  Annette Y. Goldsmith, lecturer, University of Washington iSchool and librarian, Sephardic Temple of Los Angeles; Heidi K. Hammond, St Catherine University MLIS Program, Saint Paul, Minn.; Kathie L. Meizner, Montgomery County (Md.) Public Libraries; Kelly C. Metzger, Kickemuit Middle School, Warren, R.I.; Barbara Moon, library consultant, Corpus Christi, Texas; Jessica Lorentz Smith, Bend (Ore.) Senior High School; David Wang, Queens (N.Y.) Library, and Julia Smith, Booklist consultant, Chicago.

For more than 50 years, YALSA has worked to build the capacity of libraries and library staff to engage, serve and empower teens. For more information about YALSA or to access national guidelines and other resources go to www.ala.org/yalsa, or contact the YALSA office by phone, (800) 545-2433, ext. 4390, or email, yalsa@ala.org.

For more information on the YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults and other ALA Youth Media Awards, please visit www.ala.org/yma.


# # #