Nominees sought for 2016 Coretta Scott King – Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement

For Immediate Release
Wed, 10/07/2015


John L. Amundsen

Program Officer, Outreach and Communications

ALA Office for Diversity, Literacy, and Outreach Services

(312) 280-2140

CHICAGO – The American Library Association (ALA) is accepting nominations for the Coretta Scott King-Virginia Hamilton Author/Illustrator Lifetime Achievement Award.

The award is named for award-winning children’s author Virginia Hamilton (1936-2002), recipient of the 1983, 1986 and 1996 Coretta Scott King Book Award, 1974 National Book Award and the 1975 John Newbery Medal. In 1994, she was awarded the prestigious Hans Christian Anderson Author Award for the body of her work and was named a fellow of the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation in 1995.

The award pays tribute to the quality and magnitude of Hamilton’s exemplary contributions through her literature and advocacy for children and youth, especially in her focus on African-American life, history and consciousness.

Authors, illustrators or author/illustrators will be honored in even-numbered years, while practitioners will be recognized in odd-numbered years.   Previous recipients of the Coretta Scott King - Virginia Hamilton Author/Illustrator Lifetime Achievement Award include Walter Dean Myers, Ashley Bryan, and Frederick and Patricia McKissack.

African American authors or illustrators, or joint authors and illustrators whose bodies of work have made a substantial contribution to children’s and/or young adult literature about the African American experience, are eligible for consideration. Nominees must be living by deadline of nomination date and reside in the United States.  The nominee’s body of work must include at least one CSK Award winner or honor title.  

The winning recipient will be announced during the ALA Youth Media Awards during the ALA Midwinter Meeting in Boston on Monday, Jan. 11. The winner will be honored at the Coretta Scott King Book Awards Breakfast during the 2016 ALA Annual Convention Conference in Orlando and will receive a medal and a $1,500 cash award.

Nominations will be accepted through Nov. 9, 2015. The winning recipient will be notified on Monday Jan. 11, 2016 during the ALA Midwinter Meeting in Boston.

To view the Award criteria and submit a nomination, please visit

The recipient will be selected by a five-member award jury from the Coretta Scott King- Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement Committee of the Ethnic and Multicultural Information Exchange Round Table (EMIERT). The award is administered by the Coretta Scott King Book Awards Committee of EMIERT and is supported by the ALA Office for Diversity, Literacy and Outreach Services.

The Coretta Scott King-Virginia Hamilton Lifetime Achievement Award is part of the Coretta Scott King Book Awards, which honor African American authors and illustrators of outstanding books for children and young adults that demonstrate sensitivity to "the African American experience via literature and illustration." The award is designed to commemorate the life and works of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and to honor the late Mrs. Coretta Scott King for her courage and determination to work for peace and world brotherhood.