Nominations open for the Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award

For Immediate Release
Fri, 10/16/2015


Cheryl Malden

Program Officer



CHICAGO Many of us know librarians who have helped bring about significant, constructive change in our profession. Now is the time to nominate those individuals for the Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award.

This biennial award recognizes a librarian who invests time and talent to make positive changes in the profession of librarianship by taking risks to further the cause; helping new librarians grow and achieve; working for change within ALA or other library organizations; and inspiring colleagues to excel. The 2014 recipient of this award was Karen Schneider, dean of the library at Sonoma State University.

ALA is currently accepting nominations for this award through Monday, December 1, 2015.  The prize consists of $1,000 and a 24-karat gold-framed citation. The award is funded by contributions to the Elizabeth Futas Memorial Fund at the American Library Association. To find out more information about the award, including how to nominate candidates, please visit .

Please direct your questions to:

Cheryl Malden                                                                                               

Program Officer

American Library Association