Bogle-Pratt International Library Travel Fund winner announced

For Immediate Release
Fri, 06/19/2015


Delin Guerra

Program Officer

International Relations Office

CHICAGO – Dorothy Terry is the 2015 recipient of the American Library Association (ALA) International Relations Committee's "Bogle-Pratt International Library Travel Fund."

An award of $1,000 is given to an ALA member to attend their first international conference. The Bogle Memorial Fund and the Pratt Institute School of Information and Library Science will provide a $1,000 cash award for her to attend her first international conference in Cape Town, South Africa.

The award is in recognition of Sarah Comly Norris Bogle, a prominent U.S. librarian who made notable contributions to children’s librarianship, international library service and library education.

Terry, is an instruction and digital initiatives librarian at Morgan State University in Baltimore, Maryland. Her responsibilities include developing and implementing digital initiatives, providing instructions to various subject areas, creating a social media presence, providing reference services and serving as a liaison to 15 programs, including International Students and World Languages and International Studies.  

“My passion in the field stems from a desire to not just enhance the services at my home institution or in my community, but to collaborate with institutions and professionals across the globe. Our profession is based on providing information and knowledge for all. I plan to be a professional thrusting myself into developing institutions to assist in providing and preserving that knowledge, particularly Indigenous Knowledge and Cultural Competency, but also grow form the abundance of culture present in the world. Attending the IFLA World Library and Information Congress will allow me to continue strengthening my network while learning about various projects around the world," she said.

Dorothy Terry will be recognized during the International Librarians Reception at the 2015 American Library Association Annual Conference in San Francisco.