Six elected to Freedom to Read Foundation Board

For Immediate Release
Mon, 05/18/2015


Jonathan Kelley

Program Officer

Freedom to Read Foundation

Freedom to Read Foundation


CHICAGO — Six people were elected to two-year terms on the Freedom to Read Foundation (FTRF) Board of Trustees in the annual FTRF election held in April.

Current FTRF trustee Jim Neal (university librarian emeritus, Columbia University) was re-elected, while FTRF ex-officio trustee J. Douglas Archer (University of Notre Dame librarian) will serve as an elected trustee for the first time, as will former ALA president Loriene Roy (professor, University of Texas School of Information). The other winners will be first-time trustees: Charles Brownstein, executive director of the Comic Book Legal Defense Fund in New York; Neil Richards, professor of law at Washington University in St. Louis; and Julia Warga, Kenyon College librarian and former chair of ALA's Intellectual Freedom Round Table.

The six will join Martin Garnar, Kathy Ishizuka, Julius C. Jefferson, Jr., Em Claire Knowles and Gretchen McCord to form the FTRF Board for 2015-2016, which will be seated at the end of the FTRF Annual Board meeting on June 25 in San Francisco. There will be four additional members of the board, who serve as a function of their positions at the American Library Association: Sari Feldman, incoming ALA president; Julie Todaro, incoming ALA president-elect; Keith Michael Fiels, ALA executive director; and Pamela Klipsch, incoming ALA Intellectual Freedom Committee chair.  Barbara Jones serves as FTRF executive director and board secretary.

"It's wonderful to add such a wide variety of backgrounds and experiences to the Freedom to Read Foundation board," said Jones. "As was the case last year, we are very excited to bring together librarians and free speech experts from other fields to expand on the Foundation's proud tradition. As we celebrate our 45th anniversary, FTRF will continue to work via litigation, advocacy, grants, and education to defend the fundamental rights of free expression and access to information."

For bios and more details about the elected trustees, visit