Ann Marie Pipkin receives Norman Horrocks-Rowman & Littlefield Press Annual Conference Award for 2015

For Immediate Release
Mon, 05/18/2015


Danielle Alderson

Member Relations/Svcs. Specialist for MPS

Member Programs and Services


CHICAGO — The Retired Members Round Table of the American Library Association announces that the winner of the Norman Horrocks-Rowman & Littlefield Press Annual Conference Award for 2015 is Ann Marie Pipkin. Pipkin retired in 2011 after 32 ½ years as a teacher and school library media specialist. She continues to be active in the American Association of School Librarians and is presently the program co-chair for the 2015 AASL Conference in Columbus, Ohio. She is also the co-chair of the AASL Presidential Initiative Task Force, which is planning a Leadership Development one-day workshop at ALA Annual.

In the past, she has been involved in the  AASL/ALSC/YALSA School/Public Library Cooperation (Interdivisional); the ALA Emerging Leaders Program Subcommittee (Interdivisional); the AASL Leadership Development Task Force; the AASL Research Grant Award as subcommittee chairperson; the AASL regional director for the Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi, Louisiana and Florida region (Region V); the program co-Chair for the AASL 2003 Kansas City Convention and the AASL 1999 Conference co-chair of the Local Arrangement Committee. She has received the Alabama School Library Association (ASLA)  Judy Johnson Mentor Award, the ASLA Ann Marie Pipkin Technology Award (which is now given yearly in her name), the Alabama Instructional Media Association (AIMA) Award in appreciation for years of leadership and service, the Alabama Library Association (AlLA)New Members Roundtable (NMRT) Award for excellence in mentorship, the AIMA Distinguished Service Award for School Library Media Specialists and the  Shirley Olofson Memorial Award from the ALA NMRT. She worked with Florida State University’s Dr. Nancy Everhart and Dr. Eliza T. Dresang on the National Advisory Board for School Library Media Specialists for the 21st Century: Leaders Educated to Make a Difference (Project LEAD), an IMLS-funded grant. She also served on the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS) Portfolio Standards Development Team for Library Media as facilitator, trainer and scoring director. She was the first president of the AASL Retiree’s Special Interest Group and is an RMRT director and chair of the Membership Committee.

The Norman Horrocks-Rowman & Littlefield Press Annual Conference Award is given in honor of the late Dr. Norman Horrocks who was an active participant in the American Library Association both during his career and in retirement.  Over decades he regularly attended ALA’s Annual Conference and generously shared his knowledge with members too numerous to count or name.  He exemplified the RMRT spirit summarized in “I retired from my job but not from my profession.” The recipient receives up to $1,000 to attend the American Library Association Annual Conference. Congratulations, Ann Marie Pipkin!