ALSC announces winners of 2015 Bound to Stay Bound Books, Melcher Scholarships

For Immediate Release
Fri, 05/29/2015


Courtney Jones

Awards Coordinator


American Library Association


CHICAGO — The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) announced six scholarship winners for the 2015-2016 academic year.

Four winners were awarded the Bound to Stay Bound Books Scholarship, which is made possible by Bound to Stay Bound Books, Inc. All four recipients will receive $7,500 in scholarship aid for the 2015-2016 academic year. The four recipients are: Marta Denise Brandes-Meisener, La Mesa, California; Blanca Rosales Ginsberg, La Mesa, California; Lauren Gray, Monticello, Illinois; Jennifer Matsu, Provo, Utah.

Two winners were awarded the Frederic G. Melcher Scholarship, which is made possible by contributions from librarians, professionals and others associated with the field of children’s literature. This award is worth $6,000 in scholarship aid. The two recipients are: Elizabeth Pearce, Ann Arbor, Michigan; Melody Tsz-way Leung, Arlington, Washington.

Each year, ALSC provides the Bound to Stay Bound Books and Melcher Scholarships to help advance the profession of children’s librarianship. Recipients must complete their academic work at an ALA-accredited institution. Recipients are also expected to accept positions after graduation in the field of library service to children for at least one year.

ALSC, a division of the ALA, is the world’s largest organization dedicated to the support and enhancement of library service to children. With a network of more than 4,000 children’s and youth librarians, literature experts, publishers and educational faculty, ALSC is committed to creating a better future for children through libraries. To learn more about ALSC, visit ALSC’s website at

The 2015 ALSC Scholarship Committee includes: Miriam Lang Budin, chair, Chappaqua (New York) Library; Lauren Mary Anduri, Oakland Public Library, California; Rebecca K. Jackman, New Providence Middle School, Tennessee; Heather L. Maneiro, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Miriam Medow, Oakland Public Library, California.