ALA awards deadline extended

For Immediate Release
Tue, 12/09/2014


Cheryl Malden

Program Officer



CHICAGO The deadline has been extended to Feb. 13 for a number of American Library Association (ALA) awards and grants, including the Beta Phi Mu Award, Ken Haycock Award for Promoting Librarianship, Paul Howard Award for Courage, Information Today Library of the Future Award, Joseph W. Lippincott Award, Scholastic Library Publishing Award and the Sullivan Award for Public Library Administrators Supporting Services to Children.  Although the online application has a Dec. 1 deadline date, the applications will be accepted through Feb 13.

Beta Phi Mu is presented to a faculty member of a library school or an individual for distinguished service to education in librarianship. The award includes $1,000 and a 24k-gold-framed citation donated by Beta Phi Mu International Library Science Honorary Society.  Application

Ken Haycock Award for Promoting Librarianship honors an individual for contributing significantly to the public recognition and appreciation of librarianship through professional performance, teaching and/or writing.  The award includes $1,000 and a gold-framed citation, donated by Ken Haycock, PhD.    Application

Paul Howard Award for Courage honors a librarian, library board, library group or an individual who has exhibited unusual courage for the benefit of library programs or services.  The award, given every two years, includes $1,000 and a 24k gold-framed citation, donated by Paul Howard.  Bi-annual award application deadline is December 1, 2014.  Application

ALA Information Today Library of the Future Award honors a library, library consortium, group of librarians, or support organization for their innovative planning for, applications of, or development of patron training programs about information technology in a library setting. The award includes $1,500 and a  gold-framed citation, donated by Information Today, Inc. Application     

Joseph W. Lippincott Award is given to a librarian for distinguished service to the profession.  To qualify, the librarian must display outstanding participation in professional library activities, notable published professional writing or other significant activities on behalf of the profession.  The award includes $1,000 and a gold-framed citation, donated by Joseph W. Lippincott, III.  Application

Scholastic Library Publishing Award An annual award consisting of $1,000 and a 24k gold-framed citation presented to a librarian whose "unusual contribution to the stimulation and guidance of reading by children and young people" exemplifies outstanding achievement in the profession.  Application

Sullivan Award for Public Library Administrators Supporting Services to Children honors an individual who has shown exceptional understanding and support of library service to children while having general management/supervisory/ administrative responsibility that has included public library service to children in its scope.  The recipient will receive a plaque and recognition artifact.  The donor is Peggy Sullivan. Application

For general information about these and other ALA awards, visit