ALA offers Recognition Awards and Grants

For Immediate Release
Tue, 10/28/2014


Cheryl Malden

Program Officer



CHICAGO – Nominate yourself, colleagues or your library for the 2015 American Library Association (ALA) Recognition Awards and Grants.  Unless otherwise noted, the deadline for awards is Dec. 1. 

For general information about these and other ALA awards, visit

ABC-CLIO Award for the Best Book in Library Literature - An annual award to honor the best book published in library literature.  This book may help library professionals in the areas of management principles and practice, understanding and application of new techniques or furthering the education of librarians or other information specialists.  The award includes $2,500 and a gold-framed citation, donated by ABC-CLIO.  Application

ALA Excellence in Library Programming Award – An annual award that recognizes either a school or public library that demonstrates excellence in library programming by providing programs having community impact and responding to community needs.  Advocacy, partnerships and creativity of use of resources, regardless of the size of the library, will be taken into consideration donated by ALA Cultural Community Fund.  Application

ALA Information Today Library of the Future Award honors a library, library consortium, group of librarians or support organization for their innovative planning for, applications of or development of patron training programs about information technology in a library setting. The award includes $1,500 and a  gold-framed citation, donated by Information Today, Inc. Application    

Beta Phi Mu Award is presented to a faculty member of a library school or an individual for distinguished service to education in librarianship.  The award includes $1,000 and a gold-framed citation donated by Beta Phi Mu International Library Science Honorary Society.  Application

W. Y. Boyd Literary Award is given to an author of a military novel that honors the service of American veterans during a time of war: 1861-1865, 1914-1918 or 1939-1945.  The award includes $5,000 and a 24k gold-framed citation, donated by William Young Boyd. Application

Melvil Dewey Medal honors an individual or group for a recent creative professional achievement in library management, training, cataloging and classification, or the tools and techniques of librarianship. The award includes $2,000, a Dewey Medal and a gold-framed citation, donated OCLC/Forest Press, Inc.   Application

EBSCO ALA Conference Sponsorship provides five $1,500 awards to help librarians attend ALA’s Midwinter Meeting, Deadline November 3 Application and  seven $1,000 awards to help librarians attend ALA’s Annual Conference, deadline Dec. 1. To apply for this award, applicants must submit an essay of no more than 250 words.  The award is donated by EBSCO Subscription Services.    Application

Equality Award honors an individual or group for an outstanding contribution that promotes equality in the library profession.  The award includes $1,000 and a 24k gold-framed citation donated by Rowman & Littlefield Publishing Group.   Application

Gale Cengage Learning Financial Development Award is given to a library organization that exhibited meritorious achievement in carrying out a library financial development project to secure new funding resources for a public or academic library.  The award includes $2,500 and a 24k gold-framed citation, donated by Gale Cengage, Inc.   Application

Ken Haycock Award for Promoting Librarianship honors an individual for contributing significantly to the public recognition and appreciation of librarianship through professional performance, teaching and/or writing.  The award includes $1,000 and a gold-framed citation, donated by Ken Haycock, PhD.    Application

Paul Howard Award for Courage honors a librarian, library board, library group or an individual who has exhibited unusual courage for the benefit of library programs or services.  The award, given every two years, includes $1,000 and a 24k gold-framed citation, donated by Paul Howard.  Bi-annual award application deadline is Dec. 1, 2014.  Application

Lemony Snicket Prize for Noble Librarians Faced with Adversity honors a librarian who has faced adversity with dignity and integrity intact.  The award includes $3,000, $1,500 travel grant and an odd symbolic object from Lemony Snicket’s private stash.  Donor: Daniel Handler a.k.a. Lemony Snicket.  Application

Joseph W. Lippincott Award is given to a librarian for distinguished service to the profession.  To qualify, the librarian must display outstanding participation in professional library activities, notable published professional writing or other significant activities on behalf of the profession.  The award includes $1,000 and a gold-framed citation, donated by Joseph W. Lippincott, III.  Application

Scholastic Library Publishing Award (formerly Grolier) honors a librarian whose “unusual contribution” to the stimulation and guidance of children’s and young adult reading exemplifies outstanding achievement in the profession.  The award includes $1,000 and a gold-framed citation, donated by Scholastic Library Publishing. Application

Sullivan Award for Public Library Administrators Supporting Services to Children honors an individual who has shown exceptional understanding and support of library service to children while having general management/supervisory/ administrative responsibility that has included public library service to children in its scope.  The recipient will receive a plaque and recognition artifact.  The donor is Peggy Sullivan. Application

H.W. Wilson Library Staff Development Grant is awarded to a library organization for a program to further its staff development goals and objectives.  The award includes $3,500 and a gold-framed citation, donated by EBSCO Publishing.  Application