AASL announces 2014 award recipients

For Immediate Release
Tue, 04/22/2014


Jennifer Habley

Manager, Web Communications

American Association of School Librarians (AASL)



CHICAGO – The American Association of School Librarians (AASL) has announced the recipients of its 2014 awards. AASL awards and grants recognize excellence and showcase best practices in the school library field in categories that include collaboration, leadership and innovation. Recipients of this prestigious program are celebrated for their outstanding talent and dedication to the profession.

  • The National School Library Program of the Year, sponsored by Follett Corporation, recognizes school districts and single schools for exemplary school library programs that are fully integrated into the school’s curriculum. Winners receive a crystal obelisk and $10,000. Awarded to: Eaglecrest High School, Centennial, Colo., Kristin McKeown, school librarian.

  • The ABC-CLIO Leadership Grant, up to $1,750, sponsored by ABC-CLIO, awarded to school library associations that are AASL affiliates for planning and implementing leadership programs at the state, regional or local levels. Awarded to: “The KASL Education & Leadership Program: Looking to the Future” presented by the Kentucky Association of School Librarians.

  • The Collaborative School Library Award, $2,500, sponsored by Upstart, recognizes and encourages collaboration and partnerships between school librarians and teachers in meeting goals outlined in AASL’s program guidelines through joint planning of a program, unit or event in support of the curriculum and using school library resources. Awarded to:  “College Ready: Collaborative Instructional Redesign of the Senior Research Project” from Kutztown (Pa.) Area High School:  Brenda Boyer, school librarian; Alison Kocis-Westgate and Josh Chambers, 12th grade teachers.

  • The Distinguished Service Award, $3,000, sponsored by Baker & Taylor, recognizes an individual member of the library profession who has, over a significant period of time, made an outstanding national contribution to school librarianship and school library development. Awarded to: Debra Kachel, director, Mansfield University, Mansfield, Pa.

  • The Distinguished School Administrator Award, $2,000, sponsored by ProQuest, presented to a school administrator who has made worthy contributions to the operations of an exemplary school library and to advancing the role of the school library in the educational program. Awarded to: Dr. Arturo Cavazos, superintendent, Harlingen (Texas) CISD

  • The Frances Henne Award, $1,250, sponsored by ABC-CLIO, enables a school librarian with five or fewer years in the field to attend an ALA Annual Conference or AASL National Conference for the first time. Awarded to: Carolyn Stenzel, head librarian, Chatham Hall, Chatham, Va.

  • The Information Technology Pathfinder Award, $1,000 to the school librarian and $500 to the school library, sponsored by Follett, recognizes and honors a school librarian who demonstrates vision and leadership through the use of information technology to build lifelong learners. Awarded to: Susan Nottoli, learning resource teacher, Adolph Link School, Elk Grove Village, Ill., and Louise Lankau, school librarian, Summer Creek High School, Houston, Texas.

  • The Innovative Reading Grant, $2,500, sponsored by Capstone, is designed to fund literacy projects for grades K-9 that promote the importance of reading and facilitate literacy development by supporting current reading research, practice and policy. Awarded to: “School Bike Book Mobile Program” a project by Christina Genay, school librarian, Quarles Elementary School, Winchester, Va.

  • The Intellectual Freedom Award, $2,000 to the winner and $1,000 to the school library of the winner’s choice, sponsored by ProQuest, presented for upholding the principles of intellectual freedom as set forth by AASL and the ALA. Awarded to: Cathy Collins, school librarian, Sharon (Mass.) High School.

The AASL award winners will be honored at AASL's Awards Ceremony during the 2014 ALA Annual Conference in Las Vegas. The ceremony will be held from 9:00 – 10:30 a.m. on Saturday, June 28. Debuting in a new format this year, all are welcome to celebrate the accomplishments of their peers during this recognition event taking place prior to the AASL President’s Program. The AASL Awards Ceremony will no longer require a ticket to attend nor will a luncheon be served. Also included in the program will be the announcement of the 2014 Best Apps for Teaching & Learning and the 2014 Best Websites for Teaching & Learning. Dedicated sessions on the recognized apps and websites will take place independently.

The American Association of School Librarians, www.aasl.org, a division of the American Library Association (ALA), promotes the improvement and extension of library services in elementary and secondary schools as a means of strengthening the total education program. Its mission is to advocate excellence, facilitate change and develop leaders in the school library field.