Twenty-six acclaimed authors LIVE! at ALA Annual Conference

For Immediate Release
Fri, 06/14/2013

Contact:

Colleen Barbus
Program Coordinator
ALA Public Programs Office
cbarbus@ala.org

Reading Stage features Ellen Hopkins, Sara Paretsky, Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Matthew Quick, René Saldaña, Jr., Julia Sweeney and more!

CHICAGO —The American Library Association (ALA) Public Programs Office will present 26 critically-acclaimed and best-selling authors on the LIVE! @ your library Reading Stage from 10 a.m. – 3:30 p.m. on Saturday, June 29, from 10 a.m. – 4 p.m. on Sunday, June 30 and from 10 – 11:30 a.m. on Monday, July 1 in the exhibits hall at the upcoming 2013 ALA Annual Conference in Chicago. Attendees are invited to take a break from their busy conference schedules and listen to some of their favorite authors read from and autograph their recent works.  Located at the end of the 1600 aisle in the exhibits hall, the LIVE! @ your library Reading Stage is free for all conference attendees. 

Fans of Young Adult, New Adult, mystery, romance, science fiction, fantasy and memoirs will all find authors of interest on this year’s stage. For a full schedule and bios of all the LIVE! Stage authors, visit http://www.programminglibrarian.org/annual2013/live.html.

Authors to be showcased on the LIVE! @ your library Reading Stage are:

  • Saturday, June 29 (10 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.) – Eric Lundgren, Peggy Macnamara, Wolf Haas, Shannon Stoker, Molly McAdams, Jennifer Lynn, Stephanie Evanovich, Tracey Garvis Graves, Hannah Moskowitz, Jason Mott, Jessica Hopper
  • Sunday, June 30 (10 a.m. – 4 p.m.) – Julia Sweeney, Peter Robertson, Sara Paretsky, Samuel Park, Keith Koeneman, Mary Alice Monroe, Jean Thompson, Ellen Hopkins, René Saldaña, Jr., Jonathan Maberry, Shannon Messenger
  • Monday, July 1 (10 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.) – Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Kristina Riggle, Matthew Quick and Sara Zarr

Most readings will be followed by an autograph session. To view more events offered by the Public Programs Office at the ALA Annual Conference, visit http://www.ala.org/offices/ppo-ac2013.  

The ALA Public Programs Office promotes cultural and community programming as an essential part of library service in all types and sizes of libraries. Successful library programming initiatives have included “Let’s Talk About It” reading and discussion series, traveling exhibitions, film discussion programs, the Great Stories CLUB, Live! @ your library and more.  Recently, the ALA Public Programs Office developed www.ProgrammingLibrarian.org, an online resource center bringing librarians timely and valuable information to support them in the creation of high-quality cultural programs for their communities. For more information on the ALA Public Programs Office, visit www.ala.org/publicprograms.