ALCTS virtual preconferences coming in June

For Immediate Release
Tue, 05/07/2013

Contact:

Charles Wilt
Executive Director I
Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS)
800-545-2433 ext.5030
cwilt@ala.org

CHICAGO - Two virtual preconferences coming in June bring the conference experience to you.  The Association for Library Collections and Technical Services (ALCTS) offers two virtual preconferences that are sure to guarantee a great experience.  Registration is open for each, so sign up early to make sure you get a spot.

Shared Collection Development: Collaborative Models for Digital Collections

An ALCTS virtual preconference

This two-day (June 10 and 11) virtual preconference provides an overview of collection development for shared electronic resource collections.  The first session describes a consortium ebook demand-driven acquisitions project from the perspective of a library vendor and the consortium. The second session addresses special considerations related to developing and licensing shared electronic resource collections.

Follow the conversation on Twitter:  #ac13_digi_coll

Session 1

Demand-Driven Acquisitions for a Shared eBook Collection: The Colorado Alliance Experience

Monday, June 10:  2 - 3:30 p.m. Central, 3 – 4:30 p.m. Eastern, noon – 1:30 p.m. Pacific

Presenters:|
Barbara Kawecki, MLS
Senior Digital Content Sales Manager, Western U.S. and Western Canada, YBP Library Services

Michael Levine-Clark
Associate Dean for Scholarly Communication and Collections Services, Penrose Library,University of Denver

Session 2

eResource Sharing: Getting Buy With a Little Help from Your Friends

Tuesday, June 11, 1 – 2 p.m. Central, 2 – 3 p.m. Eastern, 11 a.m.- noon Pacific

Presenter:
Athena Hoeppner, Electronic Resources Librarian, University of Central Florida Libraries

Registration Fees:

ALCTS member: $39 each session, $62 series:  Non-member: $49 each session, $80 series: Group rate; $99 each session, $168 series:  International; $39 each session, $62 series; Current ALA student members and LIS faculty:  free

Loan Agreements for Exhibits Materials: The Basics

An ALCTS Virtual Preconference

Increasingly, libraries are loaning collection materials to other institutions for exhibit, Unlike museums, libraries are often unprepared for this complicated process. This virtual preconference discusses the basic elements of a loan agreement, including legal and financial expectations of both parties and the care and preservation of the borrowed item. A case study will offer advice and tips on creating a loan agreement from scratch, as well as direct participants to existing resources. Presented as three one-hour sessions. June 18-20, each session begins at 11 a.m. Pacific, noon Mountain, 1 p.m. Central, and 2 p.m. Eastern.

Follow the conversation on Twitter: #ac13_loans

Session 1:

Tuesday, June 18

Introduction to Loan Agreements

Presented by Kristina Bottomley,  registrar, Block Museum of Art, Northwestern University

Session 2:

Wednesday, June 19

Conservation and Preservation Issues

Presented by Tonia Grafakos, conservation librarian, Northwestern University Library

Session 3:

Thursday, June 20

Case Study-Northwestern University Library

Presented by Sara Stigberg, acting art collection public services librarian, Northwestern University Library

Registration Fees:

ALCTS member; $39 each session, $95 series: Non-member; $49 each session, $118 series: Group; $99 each session, $258 series: International; $39 each session, $95 series:  Current ALA student members and LIS faculty; Free

 

All webinars are recorded and the one-time fee includes unlimited access to the webinar recording. All registered attendees will receive the link to the recorded session, so if you are unable to attend the webinar at the time it is presented, you will have the opportunity to listen to the recording at your convenience.

How to Register
To register, complete the online registration form or or register by mail for the session you would like to attend.

Contact
For questions about registration, contact ALA Registration by calling 1-800-545-2433 and press 5 or email registration@ala.org.

For all other questions or comments related to the webinars, contact Julie Reese, ALCTS Events Manager at 1-800-545-2433, ext. 5034 or jreese@ala.org.

 

ALCTS is a division of the American Library Association