LinkedIn for Librarians - new workshop

For Immediate Release
Thu, 04/25/2013

Contact:

Dan Freeman
Editor
ALA Online Resources (AOR)
(800) 545-2433 ext.5413
dfreeman@ala.org

CHICAGO - ALA Editions announces an exciting new workshop, Linkedin for Librarians with Kim Dority. This two-part workshop will take place at 2:30 p.m. Eastern/1:30 p.m. Central/12:30 p.m. Mountain/11:30 a.m. Pacific on Thursdays, July 11 and 18; . Each session lasts 90 minutes.

LinkedIn can be a powerful resource for librarians, both as a tool for career development and as a resource to assist library users. In this two-part workshop, library career expert Kim Dority will show you exactly how LinkedIn works, from building a profile to connecting with colleagues and engaging in discussion. You’ll then learn how to turn your knowledge outward, as Dority demonstrates how to use LinkedIn as a tool not only for your own benefit but for the users of your library as well. 

Topics include:

Part 1: LinkedIn for Professional Development

  • How to create a strong, professional LinkedIn profile
  • Understand the LinkedIn tools and options that can be used to address various aspects of professional development, including:
    • Monitoring emerging library trends and technologies 
    • Staying current with LIS thought leaders 
    • Identifying topic experts who are willing to share their expertise
  • Sharing your own expertise via LinkedIn  and contributing back to the professional development of other LIS practitioners

Part 2: LinkedIn for Patrons

  • Helping Job-Hunters Explore Careers, Identify Employers and Make Connections
  • Understanding how LinkedIn can be used to help job-hunters with research, interview preparation

Registration for this ALA Editions Workshop is available on the ALA Store at both the individual and group rates.

Kim Dority is the founder and president of Dority & Associates, an information strategy and content development company focusing on research, writing, editing, information process design and publishing. She has worked in academia, publishing, telecommunications and the library fields, in for-profit and nonprofit settings, and for both established companies and start-ups. She is an adjunct faculty member for the University of Denver MLIS program, where she created and teaches a course on alternative career paths for LIS students and practitioners. She is the author of dozens of articles and several books on library and information science career topics.

ALA Editions Workshops are designed to give you and your staff the opportunity to participate in a hands‐on learning experience that will help you make the best technology decisions for your library.

ALA Store purchases fund advocacy, awareness, and accreditation programs for library professionals worldwide.

ALA Units: