Learn to make your customer service the best it can be

For Immediate Release
Thu, 04/25/2013

Contact:

Dan Freeman
Editor
ALA Online Resources (AOR)
(800) 545-2433 ext.5413
dfreeman@ala.org

CHICAGO - By popular demand, ALA Editions presents a new session of its exciting workshop,  How to Deliver Great Library Customer Service with Laurie Brown. This 90-minute session will take place on Thursday, June 20, 2013.

Drawing on 20 years’ experience as a trainer and coach, Laurie Brown will show you how to create a welcoming, friendly experience for patrons, students and other library users.  Satisfied customers mean good vibes, and happy library users are part of a strong library. In addition to learning how to fulfill the expectations of the people who use your library, you will also get pointers on listening and communications skills to help your conversations with angry, chatty or overly demanding patrons as gracefully as possible. 

Topics include:

  • The top three customer service qualities for your library and how to achieve them;
  • Defusing conflict with difficult patrons;
  • Ensuring that staff makes positive customer experience a priority;
  • How to question library users effectively.

Registration for this ALA Editions Workshop is available on the ALA Store at both the individual and group rates. The workshop takes place at 2:30 p.m. Eastern/1:30 p.m. Central/12:30 p.m. Mountain/11:30 a.m. Pacific on Thursday, June 20, 2013 and lasts 90 minutes.

Known as an engaging and fun presenter, Laurie Brown has more than 20 years’ experience as a trainer, coach and speaker. In addition to customer service, she speaks on developing skills in leadership, presentation and sales.  She was a facilitator in the Public Library Association’s Turning the Page 2.0 advocacy training. Brown has worked with culturally diverse audiences at all organizational levels, and her clients have included Fortune 500 companies, government agencies and small family-owned businesses.

ALA Editions Workshops are designed to give you and your staff the opportunity to participate in a hands‐on learning experience that will help you make the best technology decisions for your library.

ALA Store purchases fund advocacy, awareness, and accreditation programs for library professionals worldwide.

ALA Units: