Walker named 2013 ACRL/EBSS Distinguished Librarian

For Immediate Release
Mon, 02/25/2013


David Free

Mktg & Comm. Specialist/Editor-in-Chief

Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL)

1-800-545-2433 ext.2517


CHICAGO — Judith A. Walker, education/psychology librarian and professor at the University of North Carolina-Charlotte, is the recipient of the 2013 Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Education and Behavioral Sciences Section (EBSS) Distinguished Education and Behavioral Sciences Librarian Award.

This award honors a distinguished academic librarian who has made an outstanding contribution as an education and/or behavioral sciences librarian through accomplishments and service to the profession.

A prize of $2,500 and a citation, donated by John Wiley & Sons, Inc., will be presented to Walker at 1 p.m. on Saturday, June 29, 2013, during the EBSS program at the 2013 ALA Annual Conference in Chicago.

“Judy Walker personifies the qualities that characterize a distinguished education and behavioral sciences librarian: extensive service and leadership in the field, scholarly publications that directly benefit academic librarians in her area and the planning and implementation of exemplary programs and workshops for professional development,” said award Chair Cynthia Crosser, social sciences and humanities reference librarian at the University of Maine. “Her work for EBSS, the NASA Educator Resource Center and for ACRL has left a lasting impact on the field.”

Walker has held numerous positions in EBSS, including chair of the Curriculum Directory Ad Hoc Committee (2012-2014), chair of the Distinguish Education/Behavioral Science Librarian Award Committee (2009-2011), chair of the Nomination Committee (2009-2010) and chair of the Ad Hoc Information Literacy Steering Committee (2007-2009).  She also served as EBSS secretary (2001-2003), vice-chair/chair-elect (2003-2004), section chair (2004-2005) and past chair (2005-2006). 

Walker’s service to ACRL also includes serving as ACRL Liaison to the School Library Task Force (2012-2013), ACRL Liaison to the YALSA Outstanding Books for College Bound Committee (2006-2009) and ALA/ACRL representative to the National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) (2004-2010). She has also held numerous positions with the North Carolina Library Association and the NASA Educator Resource Center.

Her numerous publications include “Meeting the Needs of 21st Century Students: Technology Transforming Library Spaces,” with Bridgette Sanders (2012); “OBCB in an Academic Setting” (2011); "Evolution of the American Textbook: From Hornbooks to iPads™, " with Nancy O’Brien (2011); and Directory of Curriculum Materials Centers, 6th edition (2009).

Walker received her BA from Montclair State College and her MLIS from the Catholic University of America.

Additional information on the award, along with a list of past winners, is available on the ACRL website.


ACRL is a division of the American Library Association, representing more than 11,500 academic and research librarians and interested individuals. ACRL is the only individual membership organization in North America that develops programs, products and services to meet the unique needs of academic and research librarians.  Its initiatives enable the higher education community to understand the role that academic libraries play in the teaching, learning and research environments. ACRL is on the Web at http://www.acrl.org/, Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/ala.acrl and Twitter at @ala_acrl.