Sheinkin wins 2013 Sibert Medal

For Immediate Release
Mon, 01/28/2013


Macey Morales

Media Relations Manager

Public Information Office (PIO)

800-545-2433 ext.4393

SEATTLE — Steve Sheinkin, author of “Bomb: The Race to Build—and Steal—the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon,” was named the winner of the 2013 Robert F. Sibert Medal for the most distinguished informational book for children published in 2012. The award was announced today by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), during the ALA Midwinter Meeting held Jan. 25 – 29 in Seattle.

“Bomb: The Race to Build—and Steal—the World's Most Dangerous Weapon,” published by Flash Point, an imprint of Roaring Brook Press,is a riveting thriller told in three parallel stories: the race against time to build the world's first atomic bomb; the determination to stop the Nazis from developing it first; and the stealthy efforts of Soviet spies to steal the American plans.

“Sheinkin’s page-turning narrative is a thrilling introduction to the science, history, politics and intrigue behind events that changed our world forever,” said Sibert Medal Committee Chair Kathie L. Meizner.

Brooklyn-born Sheinkin began his career writing stories, screenplays and textbooks. He told Horn Book, "With books like Bomb, I try to track down several sources for each event, hoping to find...details that can help make things...compelling and visual." A multiple award-winner, Sheinkin lives in Saratoga Springs, N.Y.

The Sibert Medal Committee selected threeHonor Books.

“Electric Ben: The Amazing Life and Times of Benjamin Franklin,” written by Robert Byrd and published by Dial Books for Young Readers, a division of Penguin Young Readers Group.

Renaissance man and American founding father, Benjamin Franklin, surges to life in “Electric Ben.” From the electrifying cover to the colonial newspaper format, Byrd’s life of Benjamin Franklin sparkles with as much energy—written and visual—as a book can contain.

Illustrator of the 2008 Newbery Medal winner, Robert Byrd lives in Haddonfield, N. J. and teaches at University of the Arts in Philadelphia.

“Moonbird: A Year on the Wind with the Great Survivor B95,” written by Phillip M. Hoose and published by Farrar Straus Giroux Books for Young Readers.

B95, a four-ounce shorebird, is the subject of a fast-paced tale of endurance. Photographs of the bird are crisp; maps are sharp and well-drawn. From start to finish, Hoose inspires the reader with awe—and worry—for this tiny natural wonder.

Portland, Maine resident Phillip Hoose, the widely acclaimed author of books, stories and songs, won the 2009 National Book Award for Young People’s Literature for “Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice.”

“Titanic:  Voices from the Disaster,” written by Deborah Hopkinson and published by Scholastic Press, an imprint of Scholastic, Inc.

Hopkinson tells the story of the ill-fated ship in compelling detail, offering a gripping account in the voices of survivors.  Drawing upon oral histories, historical photographs, letters, telegrams, maps and menus, she portrays the events that continue to haunt us.

Deborah Hopkinson lives outside of Portland, Ore. and is the acclaimed author of many biographies and works of history for a wide range of young readers.


The award was established by ALSC and named to commemorate Mr. Robert F. Sibert, founder of Bound to Stay Bound Books, Inc., of Jacksonville, Ill. Sibert is known for his early work in establishing standards of bookbinding.

Members of the 2013 Sibert Medal Committee are:  Chair Kathie L. Meizner, Montgomery County Public Libraries, Kensington, Md.; Martha Baden, Prescott (Ariz.) Public Library; Anne Chapman Callaghan, Racine (Wis.) Public Library; Linda L. Ernst, King County Library System, Bellevue, Wash.; Maralita L. Freeny, District of Columbia Public Library, Washington, D.C.; Carol R. Goldman, Queens Library, Forest Hills, N.Y.; Toby D. Rajput, National Louis University, Skokie, Ill.; Dean Schneider, Ensworth School, Nashville, Tenn.; and Stephen A. Zampino, Ferguson Library, Stamford, Conn..

ALSC is the world’s largest organization dedicated to the support and enhancement of library service to children. With a network of more than 4,000 children’s and youth librarians, literature experts, publishers and educational faculty, ALSC is committed to creating a better future for children through libraries. To learn more about ALSC, visit their website at


For information on the Robert F. Sibert Medal and other ALA Youth Media Awards, please visit