Introducing RDA with Chris Oliver - back by popular demand

For Immediate Release
Tue, 12/11/2012

Contact:

Dan Freeman
Editor
ALA Online Resources (AOR)
(800) 545-2433 ext.5413
dfreeman@ala.org

CHICAGO — By popular demand, ALA Editions announces a new session of its popular workshop, Introducing RDA with Chris Oliver. This 90-minute workshop will take place at 2:30 p.m. Eastern time on Wednesday, Jan. 9.

RDA: Resource Description and Access  is the new cataloging standard that is replacing the Anglo-American Cataloging Rules (AACR). The March 2013 full implementation by Library of Congress and other national libraries is coming up fast, and libraries are working intensively to familiarize staff, whether they’re going to be simply interacting with records created using RDA or doing original cataloging themselves. In this workshop, Chris Oliver, author of the best-selling Introducing RDA, will give an overview of RDA and look at the key aspects that make RDA different from AACR2. The workshop is designed to provide background for catalogers before they begin RDA training but will also serve as a refresher for those wanting to brush up on their understanding of RDA.

Topics include:

  • Organization of RDA and its key attributes
  • Similarities and differences between RDA and AACR2
  • Basic vocabulary and reasons for the changes
  • Improving resource description and resource discovery

Registration for this ALA Editions Workshop is available on the ALA Store. Registration is available at both the individual and group rates. The workshop lasts 90 minutes and will take place at 2:30 p.m. Eastern time/1:30 p.m. Central time/12:30 p.m. Mountain time/11:30 a.m. Pacific time on Wednesday Jan. 9, 2013 .

Chris Oliver has worked at the McGill University Library since 1989, as a cataloguing librarian and cataloguing manager. Her current position is coordinator of cataloguing and authorities. She received her M.A. and M.L.I.S. degrees from McGill University. She is the chair of the Canadian Committee on Cataloguing and has been a member of the Committee since 1997. This has given her the opportunity to be involved with the evolution of RDA from its beginning. She served as a member of the Joint Steering Committee’s Format Variation Working Group and as chair of the RDA Outreach Group. She has given presentations on RDA in Canada, the United States and internationally.

ALA Editions Workshops are designed to give you and your staff the opportunity to participate in a hands‐on learning experience that will help you make the best technology decisions for your library.

ALA Store purchases fund advocacy, awareness, and accreditation programs for library professionals worldwide. 

ALA Units: