How to Improve Your Library Instruction: Assessment in Five Minutes

For Immediate Release
Tue, 10/30/2012

Contact:

Dan Freeman
Editor
ALA Online Resources (AOR)
(800) 545-2433 ext.5413
dfreeman@ala.org

CHICAGO - By popular demand, ALA Editions announces a new iteration of our workshop, How to Improve Your Library Instruction: Assessment in Five Minutes with Sarah Steiner.

When you’ve got a one-hour, one-shot library-instruction session scheduled, speedy and accurate student assessments are of paramount importance. Information literacy expert Sarah Steiner will show you how five minutes of skilled, targeted assessment is all you need to give you a precise understanding of students’ needs, learning and retention. Drawing from real-life examples, Steiner will discuss how to write the best assessment questions and use inexpensive survey tools to gauge learning while you interact with students. 

Topics Include:

  • How to write effective learning outcomes;
  • How to ask questions that get you useful information;
  • Examples with analysis on what other academic libraries are doing;
  • Choosing an assessment model;
  • Selecting appropriate assessment tools.

Registration for this ALA Editions Workshop is available on the ALA Store at both individual and group rates. The workshop will last 90 minutes and will take place on at 2:30 p.m. Eastern/1:30 p.m. Central/12:30 p.m. Mountain/11:30 a.m. Pacific Thursday, Jan. 10, 2013.

Sarah Steiner is the social work and virtual services librarian at Georgia State University Library in Atlanta. A former learning commons librarian, she plans and teaches courses on information literacy and academic honesty. She is co-founder of the Carterette Series Webinars, which highlight trends, innovation and best practices in Georgia libraries. As a 2011 Library Journal Mover & Shaker, Steiner was recognized for creating networking and professional development opportunities for librarians.

ALA Editions Workshops are designed to give you and your staff the opportunity to participate in a hands‐on learning experience that will help you make the best technology decisions for your library.

ALA Store purchases fund advocacy, awareness, and accreditation programs for library professionals worldwide. 

ALA Units: