Create teen programs by teens for teens - popular workshop returns

For Immediate Release
Tue, 10/16/2012

Contact:

Dan Freeman
Editor
ALA Online Resources (AOR)
(800) 545-2433 ext.5413
dfreeman@ala.org

CHICAGO —By popular demand, ALA Editions announces a new iteration of our popular workshop, Collaborating with Teens to Build Better Library Programs with Jennifer Velásquez .

Only a foundation of teen participation can build a vibrant scene such as the one in San Antonio’s main library where teens use computers, listen to music, take cooking classes, do homework, participate in books clubs and generally hang out.  “Teens want a place that welcomes them; they want a role in decision-making, a place that responds to their needs, where they can congregate, socialize and have a relationship with adults that care about them, who are not their teachers or parents," says Jennifer Velásquez, coordinator of teen services for the San Antonio Public Library System (Texas), and a 2011 Library Journal Mover and Shaker. In this ALA Editions Workshop, Velásquez will offer practical strategies for giving teens the lead in developing high-appeal collections and services.  You will also learn how to draw from the insights of teens to create an online presence that is both relevant and effective. 

Topics Include:

  • How to position teens for success in program development and implementation;
  • Designing teen-friendly library spaces;
  • Developing, maintaining and displaying your collection for teens;
  • How teens can offer lessons in customer service training for staff;
  • Publicizing your library effectively with social media and the Web;
  • Motivating teen volunteers;
  • Developing library policy that works for teens, by teens.

Registration for this ALA Editions Workshop is available on the ALA Store. Registration is available at both the individual and group rates. The workshop takes place on in two 90 minute sessions that will take at place at 1:30 p.m. Eastern/12:30 p.m. Central/11:30 a.m. Mountain/10:30 a.m. Pacific on Wednesdays Dec. 5 and 12, 2012.

Jennifer Velásquez is also a lecturer in the Graduate School of Library and Information Science at San Jose State University (CA). In 2005, she was awarded the New York Times Librarian Award in recognition of her work in teen library services. She also received the La Promesa Award for Outstanding Programming to Latino Youth from The National Latino Children's Institute in 1996.

ALA Editions Workshops are designed to give you and your staff the opportunity to participate in a hands‐on learning experience that will help you make the best technology decisions for your library.

ALA Store purchases fund advocacy, awareness, and accreditation programs for library professionals worldwide. 

ALA Units: