Learn the basics of cloud computing in new workshop

For Immediate Release
Tue, 09/18/2012

Contact:

Dan Freeman
Editor
ALA Online Resources (AOR)
(800) 545-2433 ext.5413
dfreeman@ala.org

CHICAGO— ALA TechSource announces a new workshop, Cloud Computing For Librarians: An Introduction with Krista Godfrey.

The computer world is constantly talking about cloud computing and the revolutionary implications of shifting from owning and operating local servers to Web-based services. But what does cloud computing actually mean, and how can you put it to use for yourself, your library and your library’s users? In this new workshop, Krista Godfrey, web services librarian at Memorial University of Newfoundland, will introduce you to the cloud, explaining how it works in straightforward terms librarians at every technical level can understand. She’ll then show how you can use cloud-based tools to collaborate, save money and make your library more efficient.

Topics include:

  • What is the cloud?;
  • Implications of the cloud for librarians and library staff;
  • Using the cloud for personal productivity and professional development;
  • Making the cloud work for library users;
  • Mobile devices and the cloud.

Registration for this ALA TechSource Workshop is available on the ALA Store at both individual and group rates. The workshop takes place at 2:30 p.m. Eastern time/1:30 p.m. Central time/12:30 p.m. Mountain time/11:30 a.m. Pacific time on Wednesday, Nov. 7. The session will last 90 minutes.

As a liaison librarian, Krista Godfrey became interested in instructional technologies. Her growing interest in the use of technologies in libraries recently lead her to a position as Web services librarian at Memorial University of Newfoundland, where she concentrates on the library website, usability, user experience and mobile library resources. She is currently the president/treasurer of the Ontario Library Information Technology Association. She blogs as the wee librarian.

ALA TechSource Workshops are designed to give you and your staff the opportunity to participate in a hands‐on learning experience that will help you make the best technology decisions for your library.

ALA TechSource is a publishing imprint of the American Library Association. ALA TechSource publishes Library Technology Reports and the ALA TechSource Blog.

ALA Store purchases fund advocacy, awareness, and accreditation programs for library professionals worldwide. 

ALA Units: