Kenneth Crews on open access and copyright in new workshop

For Immediate Release
Wed, 09/12/2012

Contact:

Dan Freeman
Editor
ALA Online Resources (AOR)
(800) 545-2433 ext.5413
dfreeman@ala.org

CHICAGO — ALA Editions announces the next event in its exciting new workshop series, Crews on Copyright: Open Access and Your Publications: What's Copyright Got to Do with It? with Kenneth D. Crews.

For librarians, researchers and many other library users, the open access movement has enabled easy and reliable access to a wide range of new publications.  However, the success of open access hinges on the terms in the agreements between authors and publishers. The copyright language that spells out whether the public will have access to specific material might be buried in a cryptic, pro forma email attachment or even a click-through agreement. Don’t let your materials stay hidden under a rock—facilitate access by learning to be proactive with the expert advice of copyright authority Kenneth D. Crews. In this ALA Editions workshop you will learn to:

  • Be a good steward for your institution’s rights;
  • Scrutinize the publication contracts for your projects and advise faculty and researchers;
  • Identify key language for a range of publishing agreement provisions;
  • Negotiate the copyright clause of agreements;
  • Increase usage of new publications by facilitating access to the wider community.

This is second of a series of occasional webinars called Crews on Copyright, in which he will address a specific application of copyright law, complementing his best-selling book,  "Copyright Law for Librarians and Educators: Creative Strategies and Practical Solutions."

Registration for this ALA Editions Workshop is available on the ALA Store at both the individual and group rates. The workshop lasts 90 minutes and takes place at 2:30 p.m. Eastern time/1:30 p.m. Central time/12:30 p.m. Mountain time/11:30 a.m. Pacific time on Wednesday, Oct. 24, 2012.

Kenneth D. Crews has specialized for more than 25 years in copyright issues as they relate to education, libraries and research. He directs the Copyright Advisory Office at Columbia University and teaches in the Columbia Law School. He has been a professor of law, library science and business and held a named professorship in law at Indiana University. At IU he established the first office in the country specifically addressing copyright policy issues at universities. Numerous colleges and universities have called upon his services, as have the U.S. State Department and the World Intellectual Property Organization. He was the first recipient of ALA’s L. Ray Patterson Award.

ALA Editions Workshops are designed to give you and your staff the opportunity to participate in a hands‐on learning experience that will help you make the best technology decisions for your library.

ALA Store purchases fund advocacy, awareness, and accreditation programs for library professionals worldwide. 

ALA Units: